English Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This recipe was amazing! I added an extra egg as per previous review saying that it would make it less runny and only added raisins to half of the batch since I am not a big raisin fan. I also baked it at 350 degrees for 20 min. It tasted just as good as the ones sold at the store if not better. I thought that no one in my house would really eat it and I might end up throwing some of it out since many people in my house are very health. They were so good that within 2 days they were all gone, I will definitely try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
mmmmm...Just ate one now still warm! Better than..! I have to say I was very skeptical of these. I am Canadian and usually the butter tart mix is thin and golden in colour. This was more like a cookie dough base, but I continued on. I had to use a little pancake syrup as I didn't quite have enough corn syrup. Just enough for 12 tarts ('used best ever pie crust', awesome) My husband laughed at me because he thought I must have left something out. They were white instead of the usual brownish colour,even re-read the recipe 3 times! Cooked for 15 minutes. Cautiously bit into one expecting the worst. WOW what a surprise! Sooo good and the maple syrup added a nice flavour too! A keeper to say the least:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Awsome, every body loved them i made a 24 batch and instead of 2 tsp vanilla i used only 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp rum extract. They were delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This is an excellent recipe but I gave it a few tweaks. I found the quantities for 24 made enough for 36. I substituted butter for shortening (after all they are "butter" tarts!) and substituted 'golden syrup' for corn syrup which gives it an even more buttery flavour. I also added an extra egg (for the 24 amount) making it three eggs instead of two, so they wouldn't be too runny. I then baked them at 350 defrees F for approximately 20 minutes. I also increased the butter and the golden syrup slightly. I found they browned too much at 400 degrees because of the butter in them. They turned out beautifully. I have an excellent recipe handed down from my English/Scottish great grandmother, but it was hard to measure with the old weight measurements so combining this recipe with mine helped tremendously. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelagh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
This recipe was truly delicious. I found that I had to leave them in the full 15 minutes and they were still a bit runny,but still good. Other reviews helped also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Parrsboro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
These tarts are so yummy!! I left out the raisins because the hubby does not like them. The only complaint I have is that they are a bit greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
These are the yummiest butter tarts. Better than any I've ever had. I don't like raisens so I made them plain. They're just a little too runny. Not sure how to fix that but it's not a big deal once you taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIEPOO

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
These are the best butter tarts I have ever eaten!!! I whipped the mixture until it had the consistency of pudding and left out the raisins (hubby doesn't like them) and they came out better than bakery fresh. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I tried to make these with real butter instead of shortening and they didn't come out too well. The flavor was great, but the consistency was poor. Also, as the recipe states, it's critical to make sure not to over cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I am an amateur cook and I found this recipe very easy to make. Makes the perfect amount for 12 tarts and of course tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States