English Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I am determined to get this recipe right. It would be helpful if the poster of the recipe could recommend a crust to use with it. I have tried to make it 4 times now, with limited success. I haven't given up, and I will add 1/2 egg in the next attempt in an effort to reduce the runny-ness. And I mean this wholeheartedly: A butter tart is not supposed to have liquid syrup running out of it. I used the flaky butter crust recipe for the crust and made 6 larger tarts instead of 12 small tarts. I have discovered by trial and error that I must bake this crust twice. Bake for 15 minutes, cool, store in fridge overnight, bring to room temperature, bake another 20 minutes, and the crust becomes perfect. It's so inconvenient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I've made these a few times and I don't change a thing, except the baking time. I usually bake them for a bit longer so they aren't too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
They were D-elicious but a little too runny for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dede

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
They turned out wonderful. Nice and runny like ther are supposed to be.Next time thou I will have to roll my pastry thinner.(My error) They are still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
loved these!!! i didnt use the whole 1/2 cup of corn syrup though. i used 1/4 cup corn syrup and 1/4 cup maple syrup. so good. i will be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andie_p

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This is a mouthwatering Butter Tart, its original, same recipe I have except mine doesnt use corn syrup. I'm so pleased with it, its on our Easter table this year. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
these were snapped up so fast, i barely had a chance to get one myself. so amazingly good!! would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeatherMaven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These are great! However just a helpful tip: besure that the shortening is at room temperature otherwise there will be clumps. and clumps are bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSSPARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Good taste, but I made it exactly as it said and they were really, really runny. Will try again, but alter to make 'thicker'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I tried out this recipe and it wasnt bad. It would have been helpful to know how much filling to put in each tart shell as they rise a lot..which meant it came spilling over making me lose half my filling. I did try this recipe several ways to see what worked best.. I tried the recipe with Crisco and 2 eggs and it came out tasting eggy..yuck! Then i tried it with butter and 1 egg..This i found, was the best modification..Its not too runny and its nice and buttery..I find butter more flavourful than Crisco
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Hardy, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Tiger Butter Chocolates

Learn what’s behind a recipe that comforted family during wartime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States