English Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Just enough "runny". Also makes good mini tarts. (cook 10 - 12 mins, 24 tart shells).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This was my first attempt at making any type of butter tart and I must say, I was amazed at the results. I stuck to the recipe for the most part, only making the following changes: I made my own pastry dough and blind baked shells for 12 minutes at 400 degrees in my mini muffin pan. After removing the weights, I let them cool a bit while making the filling. I used an extra egg to ensure that the filling wouldn't be too runny, and it wasn't. I took the advice of others and baked the tarts (in the muffin pan) for 20 minutes at 350 degrees. They came out perfect. Next time I make these, I'll try some without the raisins and perhaps with chopped pecans or walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Just made these. I like that they're very easy to make and easy on the budget. I distributed the batter between the 12 shells and they completely bubbled over while cooking and became too flat and shallow once cooled. I'm not sure if I did something wrong here but I sure wish I knew. If I were to fill the shells up even less next time, they'd be even more shallow, which would then look like they're less than half full. I was hoping to have these tarts come out like the ones I bought at a local farm recently. Tastes good and all but the overall appearance of them isn't exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
These turned out BEAUTIFULLY!! Buttery and smooth! I'm not a fan of raisins, so I like that I could just add a few currants or even some dried cranberries instead. Lovely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geecko

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This was my first attempt at butter tarts ever. They were the best butter tarts I've had, they definitely didn't last long in my house. Great recipe and many thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is an amazing recipe. My family loved these tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaze

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
How can you go wrong with sugar and the more sugar! They are always a big hit! Take them all the time for a last minute potluck dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
EXCELLENT! Wow, these tasted incredible, and soooo easy to make. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
True English Butter tarts!!! Made 2 batches for a back sale and trying so hard not to eat them :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
These are very good, but very runny, I will try baking them longer to thicken them. The flavour is great, it's hard to believe they are made with shortening instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lekili_

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Tiger Butter Chocolates

Learn what’s behind a recipe that comforted family during wartime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States