English Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
So simple and so delicious! I love it when a few ingredients you have in the kitchen come together to create something so good. I opted for a little kosher salt and cracked black pepper. Although you may feel tempted to add additional herbs or spices, this is really wonderful due to it's simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Awesome, but there more like fries, right? Anyways, I add onion powder and garlic salt. I went a little light on the oil just because I was feeling heathly for a change... and I was running out. Also, I mixed the potatoes in a large zip lock baggy instead of a bowl. It was easier that way, I thought. That way, I could mix anything else I wanted in there with it. :D This was easy, fast and everyone liked it. I'll so make it again. Thanks for the recipe :3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was OK. I added salt, pepper, and Rosemary. Cooking time was more like an hour, and yes, they were cut into wedges that weren't especially thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ian Garatt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These were very tasty. Best way to describe them is Baked Potato Fries. I recommending preparing a sour cream/chive dip for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Absolutely amazing. my brother Loves them. great snack for the whole family. i use this recipe all the time and they are definitely not bland! I Love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
It's marvellous. I add mushroom and onion with a little bit salt. The taste is great and perfect as a side dish of my steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honeybee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I've been roasting potatoes this way for years. Didn't know they were considered 'English' though. I also make my own Italian Dressing and marinate the potatoes a few minutes and then roast so I guess mine could be considered 'English-Italian', huh? This recipe is fine as is though and is so adaptable to tweaking. Thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoyo1198

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Can't even fathom anybody criticizing this recipe - it's as basic as a "pure potato" recipe can get, and that's not a bad thing. EVOO, salt & pepper shaken up in a zip-lock w/ the potatoes - wonderful! Just as good w/ the addition of paprika and garlic. But really, this recipe is the potato equivalent of the grilled cheese - Simple. Good. Yum. Season to your heart's content, but at the core of this recipe is a moist hunk of potato. Repeat. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Simple and delicious, and healthy. I'll be making these again and again. For what it's worth, I was preparing another dish with this (Crispy Coconut Chicken Fingers) and thus needed the oven @ 450. I placed these on the lower rack and followed the above instructions otherwise...including cook times. They came out great and were not overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is nice for "on the fly." Definitely don't use too much oil and I added garlic salt, which added a nice flavor. I sliced them fairly thin and cooked about 15 minutes, turning over half way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States