English Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
So simple and so delicious! I love it when a few ingredients you have in the kitchen come together to create something so good. I opted for a little kosher salt and cracked black pepper. Although you may feel tempted to add additional herbs or spices, this is really wonderful due to it's simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Awesome, but there more like fries, right? Anyways, I add onion powder and garlic salt. I went a little light on the oil just because I was feeling heathly for a change... and I was running out. Also, I mixed the potatoes in a large zip lock baggy instead of a bowl. It was easier that way, I thought. That way, I could mix anything else I wanted in there with it. :D This was easy, fast and everyone liked it. I'll so make it again. Thanks for the recipe :3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was OK. I added salt, pepper, and Rosemary. Cooking time was more like an hour, and yes, they were cut into wedges that weren't especially thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ian Garatt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These were very tasty. Best way to describe them is Baked Potato Fries. I recommending preparing a sour cream/chive dip for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Absolutely amazing. my brother Loves them. great snack for the whole family. i use this recipe all the time and they are definitely not bland! I Love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
It's marvellous. I add mushroom and onion with a little bit salt. The taste is great and perfect as a side dish of my steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honeybee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I've been roasting potatoes this way for years. Didn't know they were considered 'English' though. I also make my own Italian Dressing and marinate the potatoes a few minutes and then roast so I guess mine could be considered 'English-Italian', huh? This recipe is fine as is though and is so adaptable to tweaking. Thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoyo1198

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Can't even fathom anybody criticizing this recipe - it's as basic as a "pure potato" recipe can get, and that's not a bad thing. EVOO, salt & pepper shaken up in a zip-lock w/ the potatoes - wonderful! Just as good w/ the addition of paprika and garlic. But really, this recipe is the potato equivalent of the grilled cheese - Simple. Good. Yum. Season to your heart's content, but at the core of this recipe is a moist hunk of potato. Repeat. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Simple and delicious, and healthy. I'll be making these again and again. For what it's worth, I was preparing another dish with this (Crispy Coconut Chicken Fingers) and thus needed the oven @ 450. I placed these on the lower rack and followed the above instructions otherwise...including cook times. They came out great and were not overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is nice for "on the fly." Definitely don't use too much oil and I added garlic salt, which added a nice flavor. I sliced them fairly thin and cooked about 15 minutes, turning over half way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States