English Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is nice for "on the fly." Definitely don't use too much oil and I added garlic salt, which added a nice flavor. I sliced them fairly thin and cooked about 15 minutes, turning over half way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
They turned out dry and tasteless. My husband did not like them, and he NEVER tells me that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam N.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Purdy, Missouri, USA
Living In: Diamond, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I've made these several times but have not taken the time to review. They are in the toaster oven and Im having a glass of wine so I thought I'd do it now. We love these. I'm serving them tonight with East Carolina BBQ's,roasted veggies and salad. I just drizzle XXX Virgin Olive Oil on them after I've cut them(like fries, but not too thin)& put them in a produce bag I've saved from the store. Saves washing an oily bowl and recycles the bag. I use these for lots of things and even get an extra one every now and then. I use Celtic Sea Salt and pepper and they turn out great. I do bake them in our toaster oven (just 2 of us) at close to 400. Thanks much for the recipe. Much healthier than crappy old frozen fries with all their additives. Occasionally I sprinkle garlic or parmesan, but tonight they're mostly naked with S & P. 10/6/09 making these again tonight with garlic powder and parmesan to go along with the cream cheese jalapeno popper burgers from this site. third time i've made the burgers in a week. i used ground turkey and seasoned the meat and the cream cheese mixture, also added a little shredded cheddar tonite to the filling. these are great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Hurley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Loved 'em , Cut the recipe in half for me and my husband. I used seasoned salt instead of salt and pepper. My husband couldn't get enough, he loved 'em !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
these are just oven cooked french fries (chips) Try adding paprika to them very yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyStepford

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Just so we are clear these are NOT english baked potatoes they are chip aka fries / wedges a baked potato is a whole potato washed rubbed with salt and baked in the oven about 180 for about and 1hr until the potato slides easily off a knife when stabbed great chopped in half with butter or any other fillings just had to clear this up these are what we english cal CHIPS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I've been making these for years. It's a nice easy/less fattening alternative to fries. I like to change up the seasonings every now and then (sometimes I add garlic powder/basil/romano cheese to make them italian... sometimes I add mexican seasoning.) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
These were delicious but there was way to much olive oil for my taste. I will start off next time with 1 tablespoon. I also took the advice of others and added season salt, pepper,and parsley. I also broiled them and they turned out so crisp! Make sure you cut them thin for extra crisp potatoes. Will make again! Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Good standard roast potato recipe there was nothing extraordinary about them, but they were delicious. I dressed them up with salt, black pep, seasoned salt, rosemary, and parsley. I will try it with garlic & onions powders and paprika next time. I cut them pretty thin and it virtually took 20 mins for them to cook nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Really Awesome Basic Recipe! So much better for you than fried potatoes and really tasty. My entire family loved them. I used fresh ground sea salt and ground pepper and baked them for the time suggested and then broiled for about 4 minutes to get them just perfect, just as another reviewer had suggested. Two Thumbs Up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie&gabrielsmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States