Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Very Good! My mixture was a little "loose", so I thought it wasn't going to bake well, but it did. Instead of maple syrup, I used Agave nectar. Also, I added some coconut and a few chocolate chips. This recipe is very versatile! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
These were awesome! My kids devoured them. Moist, sweet and packed with good things. I made minor substitutions: regular rolled oats, more apricots instead of dates, unsweetened coconut instead of walnuts, honey instead of maple syrup. I love that they have no refined sugar. No peanut butter means they can be sent as a school snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I'll admit to a few subs, which is hard not to do with this many ingredients. I don't like raisins so used craisins instead. I had to eliminate the eggs so used the flax/water sub for those. Last two subs: I used the flour on hand (white whole wheat) and chopped sliced almonds for the sunflower seeds that went missing. These are not the texture I hoped for (maybe in part to due to the flour and egg) but are tasty, healthy, and easy to play with to suit your taste. They are a little more moist than I thought so I would likely try baking them a little longer next time. I made the 9 x 13 as stated, baked for 25 minutes at which point they had a springback similar to brownies, and cut them into 12 equal bars. With the subs and the extra bars I calculated it at about 210 calories per bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Excellent. I didn't have sunflower seeds, so I substituted finely ground pecans. I forgot the salt that other reviewers recommended, but I'll remember next time. I also added 2 tablespoons of black strap molasses to the maple syrup and used dried cranberries instead of raisins. I only had cake flour, not pastry flour, but it did the trick and was not "cakey" in the slightest. That is what makes this recipe so good. It's versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I was looking for a healthy energy boost for my kids to eat before swimming practice and this was perfect. It's is a versatile base you can switch up to your own liking. I made a few modifications: dark chocolate chips instead of walnuts (due to food allergy), dried cranberries instead of raisins (because they go great with dark chocolate), and agave syrup instead of maple. These were also very easy to make--dump everything into a bowl, mix, spread, bake. Just what's needed for a go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Loved them! They didn't last long in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I really like this recipe! I've been looking for recipes to use to start making my own energy bars because the store-bought ones do not have the right selection in my area. I made some changes to these due to the availability of ingredients: I changed to wheat germ for flaxseed meal, changed the sunflower seeds to almonds, and I had almost no dried fruit in my house so all I put in was a single serving box of raisins! Next time I will definitely add more dried fruit, but this was a great base to work off of! Will be adding this to my recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
VERY TASTY... however I did not have all the ingredients as listed. I had no dried milk (used nothing in replace of), apricots (used dried cherries), wheat germ (used Bran Buds) no whole wheat flour (used white)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I put all the ingredients in the food processor to hopefully disguise the dried fruit and seeds, then baked it in a 7x11 inch pan. It came out to a dense muffin consistency. The kids still didn't like them (mostly because they read the recipe and knew what was in them), but I think they are tasty. Next time I might add a little peanut butter and maybe a FEW small chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These are pretty good! Instead of sunflower seeds I used pepitas and 1/4 cup each oat bran and ground flaxseed for the wheat germ. I agree with the other reviewer that these had a cake-like texture - not bad, just different. I think they needed some salt. I'll add 1/2 tsp. next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States