Energy Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Very tasty! I modified this to minimize the sugar by using 1/3 of chocolate flavored whey protein powder instead of cocoa powder and left out the wheat germ; I only used as much honey as necessary to make the mixture stick, which I would guess was between 3-4 tablespoons -- far less than 1/3 of a cup. If I'd had more peanut butter on hand, I suppose I could have upped that slightly and so cut down the honey even further. The results were DELICIOUS. Lots of energy and lots of protein without much sugar = win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
This recipe was a huge hit with my two adult health-conscious kids. It's like having dessert, but it's good for you! I used almond butter instead of peanut butter and I added 1/3 cup chopped almonds. I also used ground flaxseed instead of wheat germ, because that's what I had on hand. Throw in a TSP of chia seeds to add even more nutrition! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaC108

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'cath
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I'm a competitive dancer and my team and I need more energy for competitions. So I tried these and everyone loved them, even the one who doesn't like coconut and peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katy
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
For chocolate topping: combine 3/4 cup coconut oil melted, 3/4 cup cocoa, 3/4 cup powdered sugar and 6 tablespoons of pure maple syrup. Mix well. Add a little hot water if the topping gets too thick. Please note: this amount is for DOUBLE the recipe for energy balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Loved this with finely chopped nuts in place of the wheat germ. Took it to a gathering where some are gluten-free & since I used gf oats, they could indulge also! Will be playing with amping up the nutrients even higher next go-round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
These are even more yummy than I thought they would be. I did add a little more oats, probably used almost one cup. I used my cookie scoop instead of rolling them in my hands, so they were a little smaller. They have a wonderful flavor. Thank for sharing your awesome recipe Tamsz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by shayda
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Excellent snack! Didn't have wheat germ, used protein powder instead and added a little granola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
These are delicious! Very rich and flavorful. Didn't have rolled oats so used steel cut oats. They still turned out great. Put them in the freezer to set for an hour, then ate one and finally into the fridge. Very quick, easy and chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Add ground flaxseed and chia seeds for an extra boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Super easy to make and tastes great, clean up was easy as well. I added a bit of maple syrup because I was low on honey and crushed peanuts because I didn't have any coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Edem

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States