End of the Line Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This was a good recipe to use out the last of our Easter ham. I read all the reviews before trying it and took a few of the suggestions. I peeled and microwaved my potatoes in a covered dish with a few tablespoons of water until they were mostly cooked. I added water to the soup instead of milk, to cut some fat and calories. I didn't even miss it - the soup was creamy enough on its own. And I added about 1 1/2 cup of frozen peas, a generous amount of black pepper and onion powder (don't care for big chunks of onion!) Rather than doing layers, I just mixed everything together then spread it over the sliced potatoes. Pre-cooking the potatoes was a huge time saver. I baked the casserole for 25 minutes, then topped it with a few slices of swiss cheese and baked another 6 minutes until it was all melty and bubbly. I can see how some could find this bland - I really did hit this with a lot of black pepper, even adding more on top once it was on my plate. But the flavors all went really nicely together and my husband and I both enjoyed this meal. I will definitely use this recipe again the next time I have leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJCS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
Very good and very easy recipe. Also works with smoked turkey. A lot of people complained about the potatoes taking forever to cook. I used a grater and sliced them thin, scalloped potato style. Followed the directions from there and it turned out fine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I loved this casserole but instead of using celery soup, I made my own sauce. 2 T butter, 2 T flour, 1/4 cup half & half, 3/4 cup skim mlk and 1/2 cup vegetable broth. Sauted flour in melted butter over medium heat. Added milks and broth, and cooked until thickened. Seasoned with salt and herb blend (like basil, thyme, oregano, etc.) and lots of pepper. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
Great recipe! We don't like things too salty so I doubled the amount of potatoes and milk which made it just right. I also added 3 cloves of minced garlic and topped the casserole with cheddar cheese and French fried onion rings. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Kolbow

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Very tasty. I doubled the recipe, but used only one onion. Like someone else who reviewed this recipe, I added a little (about 2-3 ozs.) of grated cheddar before adding the ham. Cooked it exactly as directed, and it was delicious. My 13-year-old daughter (my pickiest eater) loved it and told me I had to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I used Honey Baked Ham with this & used cream of chicken soup. I also used cheddar cheese instead of Parmesan. Very good! I liked the mixture of onion with potato taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DZMOMX2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I read the reviews first,so precooked the potatoes & onions in the microwave, then layered the diced ham over that, then a generous layer of shredded cheese, poured over the sauce-used cream of mushroom w/roasted garlic,+ some more minced garlic, then sprinkled some It. bread crumbs over the top. Baked for 1/2 an hour. The potatoes could have been cooked a little more-(I used 4 big ones), but the reheating of the left-overs will take care of that. We really liked this & I would do it again. Thanks, Dottie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
My husband gives it 5 stars, I give it 3 so I compromised on 4. I sliced my onion and potatoes very thin and it still took forever to cook. My hubby said it was even better as leftovers. I would make again though just for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Great recipe! I used red onions and cream of mushroom & roasted garlic soup. I also halved the ham and added over a cup of sliced mushrooms. I mixed together the onions and potatoes and microwaved them until the potatoes were done. Then I mixed all else in and put in the oven for 20 minutes. Also - I used evaporated milk instead of regular milk and sprinked with crushed Ritz crackers and some shredded mozarella cheese before putting in the oven. Will use again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I made this tonight for the first time, but made modifications to the original recipe. I think the original would have rated a 3 due to some blandness of flavor. With my modifications, I give it a 4-5. I used a V-slicer on the 'fine' setting to slice the potatoes & onions. I sauteed the onions until golden brown, then added the soup & milk and brought it to a simmer. Then I added 1 small crown of broccoli chopped fine (using V-slicer on stems) & simmered for 5 min. I layered the sauce, potatoes, & ham in a glass casserole dish (10" across) 'lasagna style' with 4 oz shredded pepper-jack cheese (there were 3 layers each of potatoes, ham, sauce & cheese). Baked as directed. Topped at the end with 1/2 cup Panko breadcrumbs mixed with 1 tbsp melted butter & 1/4 cup Parmesan. It turned out wonderfully; lots of flavor & fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States