End of the Line Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This was a good recipe to use out the last of our Easter ham. I read all the reviews before trying it and took a few of the suggestions. I peeled and microwaved my potatoes in a covered dish with a few tablespoons of water until they were mostly cooked. I added water to the soup instead of milk, to cut some fat and calories. I didn't even miss it - the soup was creamy enough on its own. And I added about 1 1/2 cup of frozen peas, a generous amount of black pepper and onion powder (don't care for big chunks of onion!) Rather than doing layers, I just mixed everything together then spread it over the sliced potatoes. Pre-cooking the potatoes was a huge time saver. I baked the casserole for 25 minutes, then topped it with a few slices of swiss cheese and baked another 6 minutes until it was all melty and bubbly. I can see how some could find this bland - I really did hit this with a lot of black pepper, even adding more on top once it was on my plate. But the flavors all went really nicely together and my husband and I both enjoyed this meal. I will definitely use this recipe again the next time I have leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJCS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I am grateful for others that take the time to make a note about their experience with a recipe. This is another great example how others made a difference to this dish otherwise I am not sure if my family would of appreciated it as much. I used cream of mushroom soup with 3/4 cup of milk (we like creamy anything) and also pre cooked a few extra potatoes in the microwave while using up the rest of mashed potatoes.I sliced them thick to attempt to add a little bit of texture as I was sure the mashed potatoes would turn this into a mashed something casserole. I added a full can of green beans in the layers and a handful of bread crumbs on top and all sorts of extra seasoning specifically Ms.Dash, and fresh ground pepper. I also used about 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese before topping off the top with 2 cups of ham. I did not pre cook my onions and only used half (kids don't like big chunks of onion usually) and knew that they would add a bit crunch which added some great texture for husband and I. This is a great recipe for left over's and believe you can mix it up any way you want...I did, thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Very good use for the last of the ham...and tasty. I recommend adding some seasoning (Tony's or salt and pepper) in between the layers of potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Initially out of the oven I was skeptical of this, it was really good! Even my kids (6 & 4) cleaned their plates. I used cream of mushroom soup and boiled my potatos first to cut down on the cook time. I really liked the way the ham came out a little crispy from being on top, yum! We'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I used left over baked potato and added sliced olives. I also used cream of chicken soup because that's what I had in my pantry. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy B.
Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Just what I needed for using leftover Christmas ham. I used cream of potato soup (don't care for cream of celery) and at least a cup of milk, maybe more, because I really didn't think there was enough liquid. Also used a cup or more of shredded cheddar cheese, layered in with potatoes and ham, as well as on top. Turned out well, especially considering how sick of ham we are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I used leftover mashed potatoes (because that's what I had) instead of sliced, and I sauteed the onion in a little butter before putting this all together. I also added some cheddar cheese on top. It was simple and very good. My little ones really liked it, as well as my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trzos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I used cream of potato soup, but otherwise made the recipe as listed. Came out great, a wonderful comfort food that is a good use for the leftover Christmas ham! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
just made this last night and most of my guests had seconds, some thirds! I substituted the parmeson for grated asiago and added canned peas. Delicious comfort food! Oh and I microwaved the potatoes first as some suggested. Small potates - 2 minutes in the microwave - saved me 25 min in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
The whole family enjoyed this! I added no salt since our leftover smoked ham was so salty already. Then I used cream of chicken soup and added a layer of cheddar cheese above the potatoes. I also microwaved the potatoes ahead of time which reduced the baking time by half. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States