End of Summer Vegetable Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I have made this a number of times and the family digs right in and finishes it off. There is plenty of room to adjust for what is in your fridge on that day. Don't over sauté the vegies or they will be mushy at the end. I always thought a quick session under the broiler would give the vegies that wanted crisp edges without really cooking them too much before baking. Cut the vegies big enough to withstand the two part cooking process. Be liberal with the spices. I always sub half'n'half for heavy cream and don't usually apply bread crumbs but definitely still use the parmesan. If you like it spicey, add some of the juice from a jar of hot pickles or jalapeno's to the mix. Gives it a kick with a nice sour undertone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brighid

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Made for the first time. Don't think I'll saute the veggies the next time, as they were a bit soggy. Also need something to do with the crust as it was a bit dry. Good idea, but just needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LINDA REALE
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I made this for our Memorial Day picnic and , although my parents loved it, it wasn't a great hit with my grown children, mostly because of the noticable egg in it. I took the advice of the other cooks and didn't sauté the veggies, and they were just right. I think it is definitely a recipe that can be adjusted easily to be a pleaser...maybe a layer of cream of broccoli soup, rather than the egg/flour mixture? I think it would be even better if not for the noticable egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA REALE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This didn't turn out very well, but I don't think it was the recipe's fault. For some reason the cubed cheddar (regular cheddar cheese, fresh from the farm) didn't melt. So weird. It got soft and melty on the inside, but the outside stayed cube-shaped. Next time I'll use shredded cheese. I sauteed some pretty finely chopped onions, mushrooms, and radishes before adding them to the carrots, potatoes, and tomatoes I'd pre-cooked (obviously I was straying pretty far from the directions), and I didn't mix them in well enough, cause they formed kind of a mush at the bottom. It would have been fine if I'd stirred them in more. And finally, the recipe doesn't list quantities for the spices, so I think I used way too little. The overall flavor was fairly bland. I'll use a lot more of the seasonings next time. Other than that, it did hold together well, and it's easy to see how it would be an enjoyable dish if it's done correctly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I think the overall idea is great and can be easily accomidated to the taste you are going for. This does fix a large amount of food. The topping with the bread crumbs and Parmesan is a bit dry, so might want to mix some egg or something to moisten it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This is fantastic! We can't get enough of this casserole. I've used many different veggies and it always turns out great. Also, I usually add small apple bits -- it's a surprising taste that works well with the recipe. I usually just toast some bread for the bread crumbs, and use half and half instead of heavy cream. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This recipe was pretty tasty--I got a ton of compliments. It made a ton too: Enough to feed about 15 people at a picnic. The only change I made was to saute the veggies in minced garlic and I just mixed all the other seasonings in the egg mixture. I gave it 4 stars because I thought it was kind of watery, even if after I drained the excess liquid from the veggies AND patted them dry. Next time I might just try baking the veggies in the casserole instead of sauteing first. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This is a superb and easy recipe. Great for everyday or holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This is a great recipe to play with. I skipped the onions, used extra peppers, tried with cheddar, also tried one with feta. I can't decide which one is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States