Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I'd never thought of using flour tortillas. I'll have to try it this way. I always use corn. I'll give it 4 stars since I haven't tried it yet. But, I will! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
These can be a 5 star recipe, Momma always made these, but she used cumin in the meat added a sliced black olive to the top oh each one, a pretty addition and a great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
made this for years with some changes I got from the in-laws and a few of my own. Sub the mushroom soup with cheddar cheese soup, double the meat and add 1 chopped onion and lots of garlic when you saute. Double the tortillas in each layer, and it will help the consistancy(sp?) if you lightly fry them first. Everything else is pretty much the same. I agree that unless you are in and out or it's the middle of summer you might as well use the oven and bake for 45 minutes to 1 hr. Very easy to customize to your own taste. Also great with chicken and green enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I've been making enchiladas similar to these a long time. The hint I would offer is that you place the tortillas in a damp kitchen towel, place in microwave oven and heat for approx. 1 to 1 1/2 min. Much easier than method recommended and much more figure flattering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ennis, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
As others have written this is a good basic recipe and like them I also have added extra ingredients. To the cooked beef and onions I add low sodium taco seasoning,chopped green peppers,extra cumin, garlic and spicy chili powder. I add mashed, bottled jalapenos to regular enchilada sauce,warm the flour tortilla shells wrapped in film for 30 seconds in the micro. I oil a casserole with 1tbsp canola oil,then some enchilada sauce,add enchiladas.(I have found adding only sauce can still make enchiladas stick) After 10 mins in a 375 oven,liberally top with a 3 cheese medley (jalapeno,cheddar, mozzarella,)return to oven for 10 mins. Let stand for a few mins then serve with sour cream etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I kicked it up a notch by adding peppers and onions and cilantro and taco seasoning to the meat. It had great flavor! The next day even better. I will assemble them a day ahead, when you get in from work just pop in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
As some of the other posters suggested, I kick up a notch the flavors of what is both inside and on the outside of the enchiladas. I serve with sour cream, guacamole, shredded lettuce and tomato slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg Shambo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I also use shredded chicken. I add about 3/4-1 cup of enchilada sauce and some chesse to the mixture, then roll them up and pour remaining sauce and cheese before baking. Serve with shredded lettuce and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I agree with other reviews, in that you need to add spices or taco seasoning to the meat. Otherwise, a very good recipe. Will definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
A great base recipe! I also added corn to the filling and plan on also trying rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States