Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
made this for years with some changes I got from the in-laws and a few of my own. Sub the mushroom soup with cheddar cheese soup, double the meat and add 1 chopped onion and lots of garlic when you saute. Double the tortillas in each layer, and it will help the consistancy(sp?) if you lightly fry them first. Everything else is pretty much the same. I agree that unless you are in and out or it's the middle of summer you might as well use the oven and bake for 45 minutes to 1 hr. Very easy to customize to your own taste. Also great with chicken and green enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I've been making enchiladas similar to these a long time. The hint I would offer is that you place the tortillas in a damp kitchen towel, place in microwave oven and heat for approx. 1 to 1 1/2 min. Much easier than method recommended and much more figure flattering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ennis, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
As others have written this is a good basic recipe and like them I also have added extra ingredients. To the cooked beef and onions I add low sodium taco seasoning,chopped green peppers,extra cumin, garlic and spicy chili powder. I add mashed, bottled jalapenos to regular enchilada sauce,warm the flour tortilla shells wrapped in film for 30 seconds in the micro. I oil a casserole with 1tbsp canola oil,then some enchilada sauce,add enchiladas.(I have found adding only sauce can still make enchiladas stick) After 10 mins in a 375 oven,liberally top with a 3 cheese medley (jalapeno,cheddar, mozzarella,)return to oven for 10 mins. Let stand for a few mins then serve with sour cream etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I kicked it up a notch by adding peppers and onions and cilantro and taco seasoning to the meat. It had great flavor! The next day even better. I will assemble them a day ahead, when you get in from work just pop in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
As some of the other posters suggested, I kick up a notch the flavors of what is both inside and on the outside of the enchiladas. I serve with sour cream, guacamole, shredded lettuce and tomato slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg Shambo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I also use shredded chicken. I add about 3/4-1 cup of enchilada sauce and some chesse to the mixture, then roll them up and pour remaining sauce and cheese before baking. Serve with shredded lettuce and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I agree with other reviews, in that you need to add spices or taco seasoning to the meat. Otherwise, a very good recipe. Will definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
A great base recipe! I also added corn to the filling and plan on also trying rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I give it 3 1/2 *'s because it was an all-around great dish that is sure to please people of all ages. However, I with that I had read some of the reviews before making it, as I would have taken some of the suggestions made by other reviewers. (e.g: adding some sauce to the meat, adding taco seasoning to the meat, etc.) It was really only the meat that I found slightly bland, although the sauce that soaked into the tortilla camouflaged this. (BTW, I used the 'Red Enchilada Sauce' recipe from this site, which worked great) Overall, I would say that this is a keeper, as it is easy to prepare and caters to everyone's taste buds. I'll be making it again, with changes! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElliexthexCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I really liked these. They were super easy to make! I did add taco seasoning as suggested, and I also added more cheese. Really good basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States