Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I rated this 5 stars with some minor adjustments. First off, I use the ten minute enchilada sauce found on this website (I find the enchilada sauce "chili strong" so I triple the other spices and add a 680 ml can of tomato sauce-makes 4 cups-freeze 2 cups for next time). We are a family of 4 with 2 teenage boys and find these very filling when served with a side of mexican rice. Therefore, I use 2 9x13 pans with 5 enchilada in each (cook once, eat twice!). I omit the garlic salt and use 4 tbsp of my homemade taco seasoning as well as 1 cup of salsa. I use flour tortillas (personal preference). After cooking the meat mixture, I divide it up into 10 portions and roll each portion in a tortilla with 2 tbsp of cheese in each. I use a scant 1/2 cup of enchilada sauce on the bottom of each pan and spoon another 1/2 cup on top of each enchilada making sure to coat them entirely. Sprinkle any remaining cheese over top and bake for 15-20 minutes only. This is ALWAYS a hit with EVERYBODY in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This recipe is good I just sub a couple of things.I used corn instead of flour tortillas and I used the homemade enchilada sauce found on this website.Wonderful One more thing I doubled the enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snappy37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Other than portions, I made three modifications: I used ground turkey (85/15), I used more seasoning (pepper, seasoned salt, garlic salt) and I added a can of cream of chicken soup to the meat while simmering. It was a huge hit at my house! Prep was quick and easy, and the enchiladas were flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKKIH

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I took the advice of some and added taco seasoning .excellent. I didnt try it without taco season so I cant say it is better , I can just say it has a great taste with taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairborn, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
excellent recipe! My husband is picky about his mexican themed dinners and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I added a chopped jalapeno and this was still bland to me. Also, 2 cans of enchilada sauce were way too much. Next time I'll add taco seasoning and/or Tabasco to boost the flavor, and maybe give it a shot under the broiler for the last couple minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I did this recipe, and it was just a GROSS result, unedible. Don't even think about trying it: it is a HORRIBLE result of soggy, tasteless . Please: don't even try it. My result: a huge loss of good food and money. PLEASE, disregard the positive reviews, they are soooo wrong. This is just a result of really bad food results. Just awful. So I threw out $10 in ingredients (plus the electricity for the oven) on a garbage bag of . Go away!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This is a great recipe...I just made a few changes. I used ground turkey, low carb tortillas, crushed tomatoes, spinach,olives, low fat cheese, and low sodium taco seasoning. Also, added a tablespoon of plain yogurt when I plated them...healthy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This is a fantastic base recipe. I used the suggestions from others and put in a packet of taco seasoning (hot and spicy), minced garlic, salt and pepper and some of the enchilada sauce. We stuck with the flour tortillas as it was our preference and topped it with sharp cheddar and chopped green chilies. It was a successful and very filling dinner. I am looking forward to the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I think authentic enchiladas are made with corn tortillas and so much better. The rest of the recipe is a good basic recipe for enchiladas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTeresa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pauls Valley, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Searcy, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States