Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I think this recipe was good, but I think it needed more directions. You don't fry the shell per say... you place it in the pan with oil for a short time until it's plyable and easy to fold. I only had mine in for 7-10 seconds on each side. Plus I added taco seasoning to the beef just like if you were making tacos... I don't think this would have had near enough flavor if I wouldn't have done that... it would have been bland, especially since the recipe doesn't call for any other spices, onions, or garlic. But in the end, with some minor changes it turned out good and everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
594 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
Mmm, Mmmm Good! Smells awesome, too! Just a few changes to make it even better. Definately use corn tortillas (dipped in hot oil so they will roll without cracking) instead of flour. I make the Red Enchilada Sauce recipe on this site. What a difference homemade makes, and it takes just minutes. Finally, add a packet of taco seasoning to the meat. I think this recipe is waayy to bland without. I even add a small pinch of crushed red pepper and a few diced tomatoes. Top with sour cream, black olives and shredded lettuce for an authentic mexican enchilada! Both my parents and my husband give two thumbs up on this recipe, as well. THanks Donna :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
431 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This was a good basic recipe. To create a more authentic taste, I used one onion, chopped small, and 6 cloves of garlic, shredded, and sweated those down with a little butter first. I reserved that while the meat browned. I added those two mixtures together and just enough canned red enchilada sauce to moisten the meat up real well...along with a little onion powder, granulated garlic, chili powder, mexican oregano, red pepper flakes, minced chilies (canned), and some spanish paprika. After that simmered for a few minutes I assembled the enchiladas using corn tortillas. Instead of using the red enchilada sauce solo on top, I used one can of that mixed with about a half a can of Wolf Brand chili (best if you heat that up to thin it out for easy spreading). Then cheese was added to the top and baked. I will tell you, this gave it such a great authentic flavor, like the chili-gravy you find in some good mexican restaurants. Thanks for the head-start, now I just keep thinking of ways to rev it up and make it a little different each time. I have a strickly meat-and-potatoes husband and 3 kids that are picky eaters...they ask for this at least once a week! Ole!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
404 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrystalWest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Have made these three times now, as written, and have made the Ten-Minute Enchilada Sauce, found on this site, ahead of time. You'll need a minimum of 3 cups of sauce for a 9 x 13 casserole dish, for 6 enchiladas. Spread a layer of the sauce on the bottom of the dish before inserting the enchiladas, to prevent them from sticking. Don't leave more than an inch of the ends of the enchiladas uncovered by sauce, because exposed areas will become crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
ooooo! These are YUMMY! Forget the canned sauce, use *Red Enchilada Sauce* also from this site--the 2 cups it makes is just right for this recipe. It is made with stuff on hand and beats the canned junk for taste. I also used only 1lb of turkey and had plenty. My 5 year-old devoured this (even though he thought there were too many *yunions*) They only thing I think I will change the next time I make them (soon) will be to add maybe 1/4c of the red sauce to the meat mixture. I also used sharp cheddar, but that is merely a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
This recipe was very good but took other reviewers advice and added some taco seasoning to meat. Also only used 1/2 onion with beef mixture & used the other half with sauce (used red enchilada sauce from this website instead of canned sauce). Another suggestion that makes the enchiladas extra creamy is to add a sliver of cream cheese to each enchilada before rolling it up. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Good recipe. I used this recipe in conjuction with "Shredded Beef for Tacos". Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
I changed this quite a bit...chili powder, salt and cayenne. As previous person suggested in her review, I used the red enchilada sauce from this site also, instead of canned--what a difference that makes. I also added cheese and 1/2 cup sauce to filling. Pretty tasty indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I've been making enchiladas similar to these a long time. The hint I would offer is that you place the tortillas in a damp kitchen towel, place in microwave oven and heat for approx. 1 to 1 1/2 min. Much easier than method recommended and much more figure flattering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ennis, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
this is a really good recipe. I make it often. If you are a meat lover, you will enjoy it. all though when i prepare it, it takes me longer than 20 mintues, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States