Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Great shell of a recipe to start with... had to tweak it a bit for flavor adding a pinch of cayenne as well as chili powder to the meat mixture. Also chopped some tomato and added it to the meat. Also added some fresh spicy oregano from my garden... Once again, a great recipe to begin with...enchiladas are an easy and fun spin on a weeknight dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
is a good recipe...just had to tweak it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This recipe is under-flavored, even by my tastes (not a fan of spicy food), but a good recipe to experiment on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I added 1 large can of refried beans to the hamburger. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Five stars with improvements; two stars without. When heating the tortillas, I do not use ANY oil, I just "warm" them in a non-stick pan if they are flour, if they are corn tortillas I just wrap them in a clean dish towel and nuke them for a minute till pliable. I used corn tortillas. I used a small can of chopped green chilies and a small can of sliced black olives and a packet of taco seasoning with 1/2 cup water to my ground beef as it was browning. I also added about a cup of the enchilada sauce to the meat before filling the tortillas. They turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This is a good recipe to start with and you can play w/it to suit your taste. I brown meat w/taco seasoning. I use corn tortillas and fry them for a few seconds in oil. I put a little bit of the enchilada sauce on bottom of a 9x13 pan.Dip tortilla in sauce (I put sauce in pie plate) I add refried beans, meat, chopped olives, onions, cheese, whatever you want...and then roll them up. Fill up pan and then pour remaining sauce on top and top w/cheese. Some of my kids don't like the same thing so some will have different ingred. depending on child. All in the same pan....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Very nice recipe. I used corn tortillas and did not fry them. No need for extra fat and calories. I added a bit more seasoning to give it that little bite. This is a great recipe to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This is a great basic recipe that you can dress up according to you and your families taste. I add the spices of our choice (garlic, onion powder, a bit of spanish paprika, green chili powder and whatever else happens to catch my attention in the spice drawer). Yellow corn tortillas are our favorite and popping them in HOT oil for a few seconds makes them rollable and gives a much more authentic taste. When I'm in a hurry, instead of rolling each enchilada I will layer them, alternating each layer with the meat mixture and finishing off with homemade green chili sauce, Mexican blend shredded cheese and some diced onion (big onion fans in our house!). Before serving, a fried egg is placed on top of the "stack" and then a garnish of shredded lettuce, diced tomatoes, a dab of sour cream and a side of homemade guacamole. These are always a big hit and if we have leftovers they freeze well. Note: I make these with ground beef or Elk "hamburger", YUM!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katandcharlie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I only had a pound of ground turkey so I cut the recipe in half. (I still came out with 11 corn tortillas, enough to fill a 9 X 13.) I added 3 cloves of crushed garlic, taco seasoning and a small can of green chiles. I also poured half a can of green chile enchilada sauce into the meat mixture and poured the rest into the bottom of the casserole dish and over the enchiladas. VERY TASTY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Joel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Perri Pender
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
These were good, need some added spice for our taste. Next time I would highly season the meat. I like to combine cheddar and white american cheese. The white american really adds something to tacos and enchiladas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States