Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Sooooo good! and easy to prepare. One suggestion broil the tomatillos and garlic instead of doing it on the griddle it only takes a couple min. also if you want to cut calories cook your tortillas with cooking spray on a hot pan, to me they still taste like they've been deep fried. Gracias Gema! Elvira S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This comports with my own recipe and is obviously authentic because it calls for CORN tortillas (NOT flour!), cotija cheese, and crema ("not sour cream"). If you cannot find cotija cheese and cream at your market, substitute mild parmesan for the former and for the crema, try this: Put a tablespoon of plain yogurt in a cup of milk and let sit for 24 hours. It works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Wow! Better than any dish we have had in a mexican restaurant for sure. I will say that this recipe is a lot of work to prepare as well as to gather the ingredients. We live in a small town and I had to go to several stores in order to find the peppers and the 2 cheeses. I finally located the cheeses at a mexican store. Since there were no instructions to seed the chilis, I used them with the seeds which made the sauce extremely HOT and although the crema helped offset the heat, they are too hot for children or sensitive adults. My husband loved them so much that he is willing to help make them in the future which is a miracle in itself since he does NOT cook. I will definetly make them in the future and will also double the recipe and serve to company. I wouldn't change any of the ingredients or add a thing. This recipe is fantastic as is and believe me, the extra work was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Fantastic! The recipe itself is nice and simple, and the taste is very authentic. I made this as written except I broiled my tomatillos, garlic and peppers in the oven, removing each as they blackened - just thought it was easier. This sauce also has the potential to be a bit salty for me - I cut the amount of bouillon in half and was thrilled with the outcome, so you may want to start with 2 tsp and go up to your taste when the sauce is done. Also note that serranos are spicy, so 1 or 2 will do if you are a heat sensitive - I'm not, so 3 was perfect. Excellent, easy recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
These were the best chicken enchiladas I've had in a long time. I won't be ordering them in restaurants, as these are better - I'll be making them myself! The sauce was so yummy, and so simple to make. Gema is right, light on the cream and cheese brings the flavors of the sauce out. And I love using the deli roasted chicken, makes it very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Photo by jackie
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This is a keeper! I had only tried something as good in Mexico City. I used table cream (media crema) which tastes more like the real Mexican cream. To save myself some calories, I brushed both sizes of the tortillas with olive oil and baked them for 5 to 10 minutes at 350 degrees. The meal was a total success. My neighbors could't have enough. I would definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
All 4 of my grandparents were born and raised in Jalisco, Mexico. I know authentic Mexican and this recipe is authentic. It is a very time consuming recipe but worth it. My family has always de-seeded their peppers after toasting them on a cast iron griddle or "comal". Cotija is a dry salty cheese. I find Greek Feta to be as salty and crumbly as Cotija - and neither melts. Sometimes I see Mexican Crema in small cans that look similar to Eagle Brand Condensed Milk.Crema is thick but pourable unlike sour cream. You can make crema by simply adding about two teaspoons of buttermilk to one cup of heavy cream and heating it to just about 100° (use a food thermometer). Remove from the heat and let stand in a warm spot overnight. When it has thickened slightly, stir gently and refrigerate until thoroughly chilled and thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This has got to be one of the best mexican recipes that I have ever tried and I live in Texas and eat Tex-Mex often. I made it exactly as the recipe suggested, found the cheese at the local grocery store, HEB. My teenage daughter has claimed the last two and put them up to take for lunch tomorrow; her favorite part? The cilantro. She says it brings out the other flavors. 11-1-2010 Tried the recipe with tofu that was scrambled in a frying pan with chili powder, salt and cumin powder. It was wonderful!! 12-3-2010 I have made this 3 more times now. I definitely recommend adding sauce to the chicken in the enchilada before rolling it up. The sauce is the best part! We tried this one time without the cilantro and it just wasn't as good. All of the ingredients are important to the final taste. We ran out of cotija cheese on the last batch and substituted parmesan cheese; it worked very nicely.7-5-2011We were in a hurry and tried this with a bottled green sauce, it just wasn't very good. The sauce in this recipe really is the star of the show. We have also found that 2 serrano peppers work as well as 2 jalapeno peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Right on, Gema - these enchiladas are absolutely authentic. The baked enchiladas smothered in cheddar or jack cheese that we often encounter in the US are sometimes quite delicious, but this is not the way they are served in Mexico - most Mexican cooks do not have ovens, and the enchiladas are rolled and served immediately. Thanks for offering AR members this wonderful and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Very easy steps to follow. Although I made some changes. When I was putting the chicken meat inside the enchiladas I added fresh chopped cilantro and white onion in addition to a teaspoon of the tomatillos sauce. Instead of serving it right away I place them inside the oven 400° degrees,covered the tray with foil and cheese on top is optional instead of fresh mexican sour cream. Overall I really enjoyed cooking this recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seaside, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States