Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
So tasty! Very glad that I tried this. Roasting makes all the difference. This recipe does take a little longer, but I had the time, so no big deal. The verde sauce is delicious, don't change a thing, especially the frying of tortillas. The cheese is a MUST! Served with beans and homemade guac, reheated well. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I live in Puebla Mexico, and I make enchiladas all the time, I do the smae thing with the store bought chiken, it saves time and gives it better flavor! As for the chiles, well..... lol we use around 5-10 serrano chiles around here. Great recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Excellent recipe. I had never made enchiladas from scratch. I thought it was a long but fairly easy process. I just wished the recipe described better whether the veggies needed to be chopped, diced, minced etc. I would also add a little more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I cut back on the serrano peppers based on some of the other reviews and I really wish I wouldn't have----my verde sauce was not nearly spicy enough. I believe you could cut down on the preparation time by making the verde sauce ahead of time----that is the most time consuming part of the recipe. The reason for frying the toritillas is that it makes them way easier to work with---more flexible. I also agree with loading on the verde sauce---without the extra sauce, mine turned out a little dry. The advice to go easy on the crema and the cheese is dead on---these neutralize any heat in the sauce. If you like your dish spicy, lay off of these 2 ingredients. Overall, a very good recipe and I will make it again with MORE peppers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iron Station, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
After much time devoted to this recipe, I succeeded with 1/4 can of leftover tomatillas, and 4 broiled roma tomatoes. I also substituted greek yogurt for the crema and parmesan for the cotija cheese. I mixed both right into the sauce and a delightful result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Cinco De Mayo meal was a hit...thanks to these enchiladas!!! I used ingredients as listed, but I did add some of the verde sauce to the chicken that I had put into a small pot to warm and also addsd the cilantro and a bit of fresh onion to the meat. I did forget to dredge the tortillas in the sauce which I don't think made a big difference. I found both of the cheeses at a local grocery store (with about a million other mexican food items, glad I found that store) my husband hates sour cream so when he saw the crema fresca, he opted out !! No big deal just made mine and his a little different. Our 10 year old son gobbled them up also, can't wait to make them again, a bit extra work, but oh so worth it!!! I also baked them in 350 degree oven for about 15 minutes..DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I had never cooked w/ tomatillos before and wanted to try this. It was excellent!! My husband said,'WOW! this is great!"...I roasted the tomatillos, and only one serrano chili (it would have been way too hot for us) and the garlic a lot longer than suggested. I wanted to get a good blackening on them for flavor. yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barneybbarbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
YUMMMMMYYYY!!! This is an amazing recipe! The only thing I did different was to add a dash of cumin to my verdes sauce just for personal preference. Other than that, I will def continue to use this recipe! Thanks for sharing it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochelle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Delicious! The perfect meal for Cinco de Mayo! I didn't simmer the sauce long enough, so it was a little watery at first -- but that was easily corrected. Used only 2 serrano peppers (seeded!) and that was enough heat for us. Also, couldn't find cotija chz, so I sub't Parm. Will definitely make again ... and again ... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was very good, my family like it a lot. A bit hot for some, so I will use 2 serrano peppers next time. My only problem with the recipe is the Nutritional Value! How do you come up with 222mg sodium? The cheese alone is 375mg,+ 17.8 for the crema fresca. Then there is the chicken. My estimate is 483c, 470mgs and 22.7gp. Could someone explain the difference?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clydebank, Dunbartonshire, Scotland, U.K.
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States