Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
We enjoyed these but they were a little too hot for Hubs. The sauce is nice and makes you feel good you made it from scratch, but I must say a quality jarred salsa verde is as good or better, minus all the prep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Awesome sauce! Loved it! Saved all the extra sauce and used it for other salsa verde recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
These were incredible! Easy to make and yummy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
These were really good. They took a lot of pots, but went together simply. The next time, I will not use so much water in the sauce; maybe half as much or a little more. I used small peppers and only used 5 for a double recipe. Good amount of heat. Makes more like 24 enchiladas but several people wanted a third one each so it served the same number of people. Lettuce was unnecessary. Serve with corn-on-the-cob, beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
My husband loved this recipe - especially the hotness of the verde sauce. We had plenty of the sauce left over to use in other recipes. I roasted the veggies under the broiler (be sure an use a jelly roll pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey Jones Zynda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Tried this recipe. I was delicious. I changed two things. I didnt dip the tortillas in the sauce. After slightly frying them I just added the shredded chicken ( I boiled a chicken breast and shredded), a little sauce, and cheese to the inside. I rolled it up and added sauce, cheese, and crema to the outside. I served it with white rice. I also used one cup less of water than the recipe called for. The sauce was still very smooth and not watery. Great recipe. I love the short list of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Surprisingly good. There are many food allergies in my household (onions, wheat, dairy...), so I made a few modifications. We cannot eat store cooked chicken, so I slow cooked a grass fed beff roast in the crockpot with homemade abode sauce, cilantro, cloves, bay leaf, and homemade veggy stock. I also substituted GF brown rice tortillas for flour. Served with vegan parma and soy-based sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggiec

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This recipe is absolutely delicious! Awesome just the way it is!!! And HEALTHY!!! Thanks gema!!! I did do two things differently. Instead frying the tortillas, I put them in the microwave for one minute. Also, I use real chicken stock instead of bouillon. I will make this recipe again and again! Very authentic and tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
5 stars for flavor, but 4 stars for ease of preparation! This was for me a messy, complicated affair. Do not skip warming the corn tortillas in oil. This is an important part of the authentic flavor of this dish. I followed the recipe to a "T", and we quite enjoyed the flavor--fresh, bright, tangy, softened by the crema. I have to say, though, my sauce never did thicken up, even after simmering for at least an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Wow these are amazing. Will be making again and again. I don't think I've ever had homemade green enchilada sauce before! So easy to make!!! I did broil the sauce ingredients - much easier. Also I doubled the recipe and only used two serrano peppers, which for me made it perfect with just a little zing to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States