Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Surprisingly good. There are many food allergies in my household (onions, wheat, dairy...), so I made a few modifications. We cannot eat store cooked chicken, so I slow cooked a grass fed beff roast in the crockpot with homemade abode sauce, cilantro, cloves, bay leaf, and homemade veggy stock. I also substituted GF brown rice tortillas for flour. Served with vegan parma and soy-based sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggiec

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This recipe is absolutely delicious! Awesome just the way it is!!! And HEALTHY!!! Thanks gema!!! I did do two things differently. Instead frying the tortillas, I put them in the microwave for one minute. Also, I use real chicken stock instead of bouillon. I will make this recipe again and again! Very authentic and tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
5 stars for flavor, but 4 stars for ease of preparation! This was for me a messy, complicated affair. Do not skip warming the corn tortillas in oil. This is an important part of the authentic flavor of this dish. I followed the recipe to a "T", and we quite enjoyed the flavor--fresh, bright, tangy, softened by the crema. I have to say, though, my sauce never did thicken up, even after simmering for at least an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Wow these are amazing. Will be making again and again. I don't think I've ever had homemade green enchilada sauce before! So easy to make!!! I did broil the sauce ingredients - much easier. Also I doubled the recipe and only used two serrano peppers, which for me made it perfect with just a little zing to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Excellent! I was a bit unorganized and when it came to serving time, they were not as hot temperature wise. The taste was very very good. This is definitely a keeper! Thank you Gema!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
to make it simple, I slow cooked a pork loin roast in a jar of salsa verde instead. Now it may taste even better when following the recipe exactly, but it tasted great this way! Even my older kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastebud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Followed all the ingredients and prep directions (except softened tortillas in microwave wrapped in damp paper towels/30 sec). Made a double recipe. Packaged up and refrigerated 1 batch so we can serve some as directed in the recipe. The sauce is very spicy hot. If you want it milder, be sure to remove the seeds from the peppers. Since I was the only one home, I decided to make layered enchiladas with the remaining batch. That way my family could serve themselves when they came home. I added the crema & cilantro to the sauce (which cut the heat/spice a little). Cut softened tortillas into 1" strips and used 2 cups of cotija. Put thin layer of sauce on bottom of 9"x13" dish. Continued layering as follows: 1/2 of tortilla strips, 1/2 of chicken, 1/2 of Cojita cheese, 1/2 of Sauce repeat layers once. Put the few remaining tortilla strips on top. Baked uncovered at 400F for 25-30 min. Husband tried the original sauce and told me to keep this recipe. He plans to add a little salt and use the sauce on tacos, etc. So far this recipe has been a hit with the whole family. Fortunately we like lots of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly except that I baked them as I had prepared them early on Christmas day. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
followed the directions close as possible while demonstrating in-front of a class but had to make a few alterations. Such as the amount of water, i would have used maybe 1 cup maybe less considering after i poured maybe 2 cups it got super liquidy and i had to put cornstarch in to thicken it up. As for the roasting the garlic, peppers, and tamatillos that went down the drain completely; I had to stick them in the oven after 30 minutes and not seeing much difference. Over all the sauce was good and everyone liked the dish but i would have left out cotija cheese beacuse people were complaining it tasted rubbery (i'm not sure if that's how the cheese is supposed to taste) overall i wouldn't mind making this again only if i didn't have to go out and buy the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was some of the best enchiladas I have ever had. My husband and children loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealCookingDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States