Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Made this tonight I used a can of mushroom soup. And some homemade green salsa. And topped with pepper jack cheese. Also used cumin and extra galric salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I'm always a fan of doing as much as I can myself to make it more authentic. I buy a whole chicken and boil it. I season it with garlic, salt and onion. After the chicken is boiled let it cool down and then clean it and place all the chicken in a bowl. SAVE THE BROTH! Once you do that DOUBLE THE SAUCE!! I really only double the tomatillos and keep around 3-5 serrano peppers. I personally like to boil the tomatillos and peppers but you can also broil them in the oven for a great taste too (cut in half and place the skin side up until browned). Let the tomatillos and peppers cool down a little and then you want to place into a blender, it usually takes two batches to do this for me. Now, place half of the tomatillos, serranos, cilantro, 1 cup of the chicken broth you just saved!, and half of a white onion. Blend to liquid and place in a sauce pan. Season with salt to taste. Making it this way is uhmayzing! I do it all the time and it's how the Mexican side of my family taught me how to make it. If you can buy from a local tortilla shop, you're already much better off than you could be with the store brands. I like the white corn but it's up to you. When you cook the tortillas in oil, it is SOO much easier having someone else help you. I also like to add Queso Fresco cheese inside the enchiladas. We like to make a line where my mom does the tortillas and soaks the oil on the side and then places them in the sauce for me to fill. Cover enchiladas with sauce and 350 for 30 min!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PenguinKing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
These enchiladas are fantastic! The recipe is easy to follow and my children LOVED IT! I did cut back on the peppers to make it kid friendly, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
These are wonderful chicken enchiladas and the sauce is what makes this dish. It is the first time I used Tomatillos and it was a lot of fun toasting/blackening and making the sauce. It turned out just like a fine dining restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
We enjoyed these but they were a little too hot for Hubs. The sauce is nice and makes you feel good you made it from scratch, but I must say a quality jarred salsa verde is as good or better, minus all the prep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Awesome sauce! Loved it! Saved all the extra sauce and used it for other salsa verde recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
These were incredible! Easy to make and yummy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
These were really good. They took a lot of pots, but went together simply. The next time, I will not use so much water in the sauce; maybe half as much or a little more. I used small peppers and only used 5 for a double recipe. Good amount of heat. Makes more like 24 enchiladas but several people wanted a third one each so it served the same number of people. Lettuce was unnecessary. Serve with corn-on-the-cob, beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
My husband loved this recipe - especially the hotness of the verde sauce. We had plenty of the sauce left over to use in other recipes. I roasted the veggies under the broiler (be sure an use a jelly roll pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Tried this recipe. I was delicious. I changed two things. I didnt dip the tortillas in the sauce. After slightly frying them I just added the shredded chicken ( I boiled a chicken breast and shredded), a little sauce, and cheese to the inside. I rolled it up and added sauce, cheese, and crema to the outside. I served it with white rice. I also used one cup less of water than the recipe called for. The sauce was still very smooth and not watery. Great recipe. I love the short list of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States