Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was amazing! Everyone in my family loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mac44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Sooooo good! and easy to prepare. One suggestion broil the tomatillos and garlic instead of doing it on the griddle it only takes a couple min. also if you want to cut calories cook your tortillas with cooking spray on a hot pan, to me they still taste like they've been deep fried. Gracias Gema! Elvira S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
These were the best chicken enchiladas I've had in a long time. I won't be ordering them in restaurants, as these are better - I'll be making them myself! The sauce was so yummy, and so simple to make. Gema is right, light on the cream and cheese brings the flavors of the sauce out. And I love using the deli roasted chicken, makes it very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Fantastic! The recipe itself is nice and simple, and the taste is very authentic. I made this as written except I broiled my tomatillos, garlic and peppers in the oven, removing each as they blackened - just thought it was easier. This sauce also has the potential to be a bit salty for me - I cut the amount of bouillon in half and was thrilled with the outcome, so you may want to start with 2 tsp and go up to your taste when the sauce is done. Also note that serranos are spicy, so 1 or 2 will do if you are a heat sensitive - I'm not, so 3 was perfect. Excellent, easy recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Wow! Better than any dish we have had in a mexican restaurant for sure. I will say that this recipe is a lot of work to prepare as well as to gather the ingredients. We live in a small town and I had to go to several stores in order to find the peppers and the 2 cheeses. I finally located the cheeses at a mexican store. Since there were no instructions to seed the chilis, I used them with the seeds which made the sauce extremely HOT and although the crema helped offset the heat, they are too hot for children or sensitive adults. My husband loved them so much that he is willing to help make them in the future which is a miracle in itself since he does NOT cook. I will definetly make them in the future and will also double the recipe and serve to company. I wouldn't change any of the ingredients or add a thing. This recipe is fantastic as is and believe me, the extra work was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jackie
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This is a keeper! I had only tried something as good in Mexico City. I used table cream (media crema) which tastes more like the real Mexican cream. To save myself some calories, I brushed both sizes of the tortillas with olive oil and baked them for 5 to 10 minutes at 350 degrees. The meal was a total success. My neighbors could't have enough. I would definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
A little tedious...but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
These were GREAT!! Thankfully I only used 2 serrano peppers since I left the seeds in them! The dish assembled pulled the heat down to just right if you like a medium heat. Loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This recipe was outstanding!! I don't like making enchiladas because they never come out right or I just don't like the recipe, but this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This comports with my own recipe and is obviously authentic because it calls for CORN tortillas (NOT flour!), cotija cheese, and crema ("not sour cream"). If you cannot find cotija cheese and cream at your market, substitute mild parmesan for the former and for the crema, try this: Put a tablespoon of plain yogurt in a cup of milk and let sit for 24 hours. It works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States