Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
After much time devoted to this recipe, I succeeded with 1/4 can of leftover tomatillas, and 4 broiled roma tomatoes. I also substituted greek yogurt for the crema and parmesan for the cotija cheese. I mixed both right into the sauce and a delightful result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Cinco De Mayo meal was a hit...thanks to these enchiladas!!! I used ingredients as listed, but I did add some of the verde sauce to the chicken that I had put into a small pot to warm and also addsd the cilantro and a bit of fresh onion to the meat. I did forget to dredge the tortillas in the sauce which I don't think made a big difference. I found both of the cheeses at a local grocery store (with about a million other mexican food items, glad I found that store) my husband hates sour cream so when he saw the crema fresca, he opted out !! No big deal just made mine and his a little different. Our 10 year old son gobbled them up also, can't wait to make them again, a bit extra work, but oh so worth it!!! I also baked them in 350 degree oven for about 15 minutes..DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I had never cooked w/ tomatillos before and wanted to try this. It was excellent!! My husband said,'WOW! this is great!"...I roasted the tomatillos, and only one serrano chili (it would have been way too hot for us) and the garlic a lot longer than suggested. I wanted to get a good blackening on them for flavor. yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barneybbarbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
YUMMMMMYYYY!!! This is an amazing recipe! The only thing I did different was to add a dash of cumin to my verdes sauce just for personal preference. Other than that, I will def continue to use this recipe! Thanks for sharing it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochelle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Delicious! The perfect meal for Cinco de Mayo! I didn't simmer the sauce long enough, so it was a little watery at first -- but that was easily corrected. Used only 2 serrano peppers (seeded!) and that was enough heat for us. Also, couldn't find cotija chz, so I sub't Parm. Will definitely make again ... and again ... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was very good, my family like it a lot. A bit hot for some, so I will use 2 serrano peppers next time. My only problem with the recipe is the Nutritional Value! How do you come up with 222mg sodium? The cheese alone is 375mg,+ 17.8 for the crema fresca. Then there is the chicken. My estimate is 483c, 470mgs and 22.7gp. Could someone explain the difference?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clydebank, Dunbartonshire, Scotland, U.K.
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
All 4 of my grandparents were born and raised in Jalisco, Mexico. I know authentic Mexican and this recipe is authentic. It is a very time consuming recipe but worth it. My family has always de-seeded their peppers after toasting them on a cast iron griddle or "comal". Cotija is a dry salty cheese. I find Greek Feta to be as salty and crumbly as Cotija - and neither melts. Sometimes I see Mexican Crema in small cans that look similar to Eagle Brand Condensed Milk.Crema is thick but pourable unlike sour cream. You can make crema by simply adding about two teaspoons of buttermilk to one cup of heavy cream and heating it to just about 100° (use a food thermometer). Remove from the heat and let stand in a warm spot overnight. When it has thickened slightly, stir gently and refrigerate until thoroughly chilled and thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
To make this even quicker I use crushed tortilla chips instead of frying corn tortillas. It's not an enchilada casserole anymore but rather a chillaques (sp?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deberuni

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
this is soooooo delicious!! makes me feel like I'm back in Mexico. It does have "heat" to it...so for me, next time I will only use 1 Serrano pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Excellent! Everyone loved it! I made it with the Cotija cheese and Crema Fresca. It came out just as good as the enchiladas you would have at an authentic Mexican Resturant. In one word...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States