Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This has got to be one of the best mexican recipes that I have ever tried and I live in Texas and eat Tex-Mex often. I made it exactly as the recipe suggested, found the cheese at the local grocery store, HEB. My teenage daughter has claimed the last two and put them up to take for lunch tomorrow; her favorite part? The cilantro. She says it brings out the other flavors. 11-1-2010 Tried the recipe with tofu that was scrambled in a frying pan with chili powder, salt and cumin powder. It was wonderful!! 12-3-2010 I have made this 3 more times now. I definitely recommend adding sauce to the chicken in the enchilada before rolling it up. The sauce is the best part! We tried this one time without the cilantro and it just wasn't as good. All of the ingredients are important to the final taste. We ran out of cotija cheese on the last batch and substituted parmesan cheese; it worked very nicely.7-5-2011We were in a hurry and tried this with a bottled green sauce, it just wasn't very good. The sauce in this recipe really is the star of the show. We have also found that 2 serrano peppers work as well as 2 jalapeno peppers. 7-12-15 This has become a go-to for my family. Changes: boil a chicken & use broth to make the sauce; broil veggies to save time; make blue tortillas instead of store bought. These things are time consuming, but make for a really awesome tasting product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Like most everyone else, I loved the flavor of the sauce. I followed the directions as stated, but want to try putting them in the oven for a bit after assembled as they cooled off in temperature quickly after the addition of the crema and cheese. Did anyone else have this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
YUM! This recipe got me to try some ingredients I normally wouldn't have. Really enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Amazing recipe! I used sour cream and also mixed sour cream to the sauce a little bit to tone down the heat. Best enchiladas I ever had in my life! Seriously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This is by far the easiest and best Mexican recipe I have ever served! The rotisserie chicken makes it moist and easy. I substitute poblano peppers instead of the serrano peppers in the verde sauce. It is not as hot and yields more sauce. You will make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made these exactly as written, right down to the cojita and crema. I did double the peppers since we prefer more heat. They were very good, although labor intensive. I like the addition of cilantro and serranos a lot though, so will probably add those to my old stand-by crockpot recipe that needed a little more kick and is much simpler. Also prefer slow-cooked pork to the chicken. All-in-all, very good, very authentic recipe. I'm glad we tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I messed up and used two jalapenos instead of the serano peppers, as well as roasted corn from the grill that was leftover combined with the chicken. The verde sauce was AWESOME... the biggest mess up was that I over-baked the tortillas in the oven (instead of frying), so I folded the crunchy ones in half and made tacos verde. Very tasty, will actually do it right next time. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nymbus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
AMAZING! It is very salty however. I used less of the chicken bouillonne and switched out the cojita cheese for something less salty. The sauce was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pokumura

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I love authentic Mexican food - prefer authentic taco stands to fancy commercialized restaurants - but I'm sorry I just didn't care for these. I took the seeds out of the serrano peppers before cooking them which left little to no heat. My son said it all, 'they're so bland'. Even if the sauce did have more heat, I don't know if I would have cared that much more for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States