Enchiladas Verdes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
These are delicious! I didn't have the cheese listed so I used queso fresco crumbled on top. I used 2 serrano peppers to 1lb of tomatillos & used 1 1/2 cups of water to dilute the hotness of the serranos. My husband, who loves spicy foods, said it was the perfect balance. I didn't have the crema either but it didn't need it- the sauce is wonderful. Thank you for an easy, delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newmommy2010

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Great sauce recipe. I used a store bought roasted chicken for more flavor. Feel like the recipe is missing something though, it's a little dry. Maybe so cheese or something rolled up with the chicken inside?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Excelente!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight and my husband and I liked the spice. I used two Serrano peppers. It was too spicy for my small children though. We also used grated Parmesan and sour cream that was on hand. It was delicious and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I followed the recipe as much as I could, but couldn't locate crema fresca so used sour cream instead. The flavor was great, but my one complaint is that they were soggy. I think I'm used to the more traditional way we get them in restaurants so wasn't expecting that. I kept thinking they needed to go in the oven to crisp them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for as far as authenticity. I didn't want to buy canned sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is hands down the best recipe I've made from this site. These enchiladas were authentic, easy to make and delicious. The only thing I did different from the recipe was to broil the ingredients instead of using the griddle. I left them in there until they were blackened which was about the same time as listed in the recipe. I dumped the juices the tomatillos left into the blender and used one less cup of water to compensate. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tumwater, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Loved these! I made them exactly as described in the recipe. I thought I didn't like verde sauce or corn tortillas (at least I have never liked either one in restaurants) but this dish was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Made this tonight I used a can of mushroom soup. And some homemade green salsa. And topped with pepper jack cheese. Also used cumin and extra galric salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I'm always a fan of doing as much as I can myself to make it more authentic. I buy a whole chicken and boil it. I season it with garlic, salt and onion. After the chicken is boiled let it cool down and then clean it and place all the chicken in a bowl. SAVE THE BROTH! Once you do that DOUBLE THE SAUCE!! I really only double the tomatillos and keep around 3-5 serrano peppers. I personally like to boil the tomatillos and peppers but you can also broil them in the oven for a great taste too (cut in half and place the skin side up until browned). Let the tomatillos and peppers cool down a little and then you want to place into a blender, it usually takes two batches to do this for me. Now, place half of the tomatillos, serranos, cilantro, 1 cup of the chicken broth you just saved!, and half of a white onion. Blend to liquid and place in a sauce pan. Season with salt to taste. Making it this way is uhmayzing! I do it all the time and it's how the Mexican side of my family taught me how to make it. If you can buy from a local tortilla shop, you're already much better off than you could be with the store brands. I like the white corn but it's up to you. When you cook the tortillas in oil, it is SOO much easier having someone else help you. I also like to add Queso Fresco cheese inside the enchiladas. We like to make a line where my mom does the tortillas and soaks the oil on the side and then places them in the sauce for me to fill. Cover enchiladas with sauce and 350 for 30 min!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PenguinKing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States