Enchiladas Suizas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
OMG these are the best enchiladas! Sadly none were left for seconds. I did feel it took a while and will look for shortcuts, but as is this is an amazing recipe. Could use a bit more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Years ago I used to live in Mexico, and Enchiladas Suizas were among my favorite foods. I've craved them for so long, and was thrilled to find this recipe! I often do the same as other reviewers, and use a rotisserie chicken to save on prep. I've made these either with jalapeño or poblano chiles, depending on how much heat I want. I'd say use maybe 2.5 cups of chicken to fill them out a bit more, and I usually end up using 1.5-2 cups of the cream (hey, it comes in pints anyway--why waste it?!!). I also substitute oregano for the cumin; I'm not a fan of cumin, plus I think too many people just add a lot of cumin to dishes and call them Mexican. (Actually oregano is a more "authentic" spice, depending on the region!). Then I follow the rest of the recipe to the letter, and they turn out wonderfully. I might try adding queso fresco to the cheese topping some day, but so far these enchiladas are fantastic--they take me straight back to Guanajuato every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This is quickly becoming a family favorite! I simply put a spoonful of sauce on the tortilla, then filling and wrap. Once they are all in the pan, I pour the extra sauce and eye ball the amount of cream. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Made this with leftover turkey. Also, tried to make it a little healthier by skipping the cream and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
The best enchiladas I've ever made!! The verde sauce was amazing and very easy to make. I did "fry" the tortillas based on reviews that said that is the key to great enchiladas although I may try the microwave trick next time. The flavor was amazing and I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
for the time it takes to make these it's not really worth it. it'd be easier and taste just as good to use canned green enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Our family raves about this recipe. I couldn't find green chili's in a can so I used 1/2 lb of jalapenos and 1/2 lb serrano peppers (de-seeded)and used a food processor to dice them.* I also couldn't find shredded Monterey Jack cheese so I shredded a block myself and added a bit of flour to keep it from clumping when combining with the shredded cheddar. *If cutting fresh hot peppers chokes you and burns your hands (maybe it's just me!) use kitchen gloves and a dust mask when cutting/dicing and seeding (works like a charm).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Just like in the restaurant, and easy enough for my 11 year old to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was fantastic. I have made this 3 times now, and it is great! Like others, I wanted to cut the calories a bit, so I used evaporated milk instead of cream, and I fried the tortillas in cooking spray. I also used reduced fat cream cheese (with some cumin) to mix with the chicken instead of shredded cheese. Absolutely delicious. I really recommend taking the time to made the sauce rather than just using a store-bought salsa verde. There is a huge difference! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States