Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Finally, I've found an enchilada sauce recipe that equals the flavor found in my favorite Tucson restaurants. Easy to make, perfect consistency, and the "heat" can be adjusted according to the chiles use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
This is SO much better than any red sauce. I'm not partial to a tomato based sauce, so this hit the spot. Granted, it isn't meant to be something made in 5 minutes, but it is to be expected when you make something AUTHENTIC. If you take the time, you will be rewarded!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
I made enchiladas for my whole family. Everyone LOVED them, the sauce is what really did it. They were all so amazed that I made the sauce and didn't simply use the store bought stuff (which I will never buy again). I doubled the number of chilies and added more flour. The hardest part was removing the pulp from the skin. The effort was well worth the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Great! It really woke up my enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Thank you! I used a blender to make the sauce (without the flour) as the old recipe I couldn't find did and I used Olive oil. No tomatoes! Real Enchilada sauce never had tomatoes! Thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Love this sauce. Made it today and I'll never buy canned sauce again.GREAT TASTE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
So easy, so delicious, what else could you ask for? The color was scary but that is not what its all about! I only used Fresno Chili peppers (its all I had) but it still tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rochester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This recipe is the BEST! Family will literally drive from hours away when I make this enchilada sauce. I discovered it over 5 years ago and have never made or used another red sauce. It is a bit time consuming but SO worth every minute. Only complaint is that it goes so quickly once everyone starts eating! I make nearly exactly how the recipes instructs, maybe not using as much fluid, depending on the batch, and it comes out perfectly. I notice others discussing the consistency but I haven't had any trouble with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This recipe is very authentic. I'm from San Diego and this is the way they make enchilada sauce in many Mexican restaurants. It does take more time but it has a better flavor than the canned sauce I use when I'm in a hurry. You can use different dried chilis to get different tastes and degrees of spiciness. This sauce also works for making chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
fantastic recipe and so authentic! I thickened with corn flour, not white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States