Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This sauce did not turn out well at all - it tasted more like chicken broth than enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This sauce was wonderful! I added a jalapeño and it really turned out great. I browned the flour and onions a little longer than the recipe said to, just until they turned a reddish-brown. I also didn’t add as much stock as was mentioned in the recipe. I read the reviews saying it was too runny so I added it a little bit at a time. This was really a great sauce. I was looking for something other than the canned sauce and this hit the spot. It wasn’t too spicy so if you’re looking for spice, add a jalapeno or two. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This is so good and fresh tasting. Used it with the McCormick and Schmick's lobster and sprimp recipe, was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This is a pretty easy recipe, a little on the thin side, though. Also, I found that the toasting of the chiles in the oven was a bit time-consuming. Especially when the same effect can be produced by quickly pan searing the chiles. To do this, I usually cut the peppers in half, remove the seeds, then over medium high heat I fry each half about 10-15 seconds per side, while applying pressure with a spatula. Then, just continue the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Easy and pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Boiling the Chile peppers as oppose to just letting them soak is what I usually do. After boiling, I just pop the whole thing (minus seeds & stem) in blender. I strain in a colinder afterwards. It is time consuming but it does keep it thick. I add garlic powder, onion and salt. While boiling the smell ifmakes you cough, you got yourself some HOT sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I tried this recipe at my aunts house and just had to have it this was an incredibly good flavorfull sauce. I have tried many and made many more to find the best and this is close to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Great recipe! We add a chocolate bar to the leftovers during reheating for a quick "mole-style" sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Neel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
I made enchiladas for my whole family. Everyone LOVED them, the sauce is what really did it. They were all so amazed that I made the sauce and didn't simply use the store bought stuff (which I will never buy again). I doubled the number of chilies and added more flour. The hardest part was removing the pulp from the skin. The effort was well worth the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
This is SO much better than any red sauce. I'm not partial to a tomato based sauce, so this hit the spot. Granted, it isn't meant to be something made in 5 minutes, but it is to be expected when you make something AUTHENTIC. If you take the time, you will be rewarded!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States