Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I gave 4 stars because of the pulp prep on this. Like many other reviewers, I just seeded, removed stems, and toasted on comal before soaking. No problems with color. For bitterness, add a little sugar till its to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
USE THE WHOLE CHILE! I loved this sauce, but had to rate 4/5 because scraping the pulp out of a dried chile is absurd! Toast (I used a comal on the stovetop instead of the oven), reconstitute, and the just use whole. That's what I learned in cooking school in Mexico, that's how we make mole, pipian rojo, and lots of other authentic Mexican dishes, and it saves a ton of time and flavor. Well-toasted chiles aren't bitter. Great recipe! I recommend extra salt and lime wedges for serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
good sauce, but all that pepper prep work seemed useless. i just roast them over a flame, or even on skillet, pan, whatever, for a few seconds. removed only the stem, and they were good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Nice job! I would add that to skin peppers, after you remove them from oven, place them in a tightly covered plastic container with some water in the bottom. Put directly in fridge. After they cool, the skins will almost fall off of the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madhatter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
this is THE BEST enchilada sauce! i was worried when i saw that the sauce was white (im used to seeing red or brown) but it is the best sauce ive ever had in either a restaurant or at home. i dont worry about which kinds of chili peppers i buy. i always just get whats available at my store. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This sauce was really good. Rich, deep, smoky flavor. I am not sure you need the flour or maybe just a little bit. I did add a 12 oz can of V-8 juice to cool the heat of the chilies down. I made cheese and onion enchiladas with this sauce and flat on the plate, I Always top my enchiladas with a fried egg, or 2! You break the golden yolk over those cheesy, spicy disks of goodness and the egg just gives them another depth of flavor. Terrific!! Thank You Bill for a yummy sauce and I am not sure I will buy canned sauce again!! This is sooo much better!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
MAde as is and REALLY enjoyed it. Worth all the effort!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This recipe was great. Could use a little more information on how much water to put with the peppers. If you try this recipe the flour amount will vary in order to get the proper thickness of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Excellent!!! Loved it. I noticed that if I roast the chilis in a pan then soaked then in the water it actually made them easier to remove the pulp. I used ancho chilis and New Mexico chilis. Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmelita

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
After reading a lot of the reviews for this recipe, I noticed several comments regarding the skin being hard to remove from the pulp. Here's the secret for that...after roasting the peppers immediately put them in a ziptop bag and close. Let sit/steam in bag for 10 minutes then remove and peel the peppers and continue with the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States