Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by amy
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Very nice sauce! I didn't have fresh chillies so I used half a teaspoon of dried chilli flakes and seeds and half a teaspoon of cayenne pepper. I also added a teaspoon of paprika. I used the sauce with some beans, roasted and chopped red peppers, and minced beef, for enchiladas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Mmmmm.......great recipe. Tastes like one I had in Clovis, NM many years ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I used this sauce to make beef enchiladas with Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat, Kraft Mexican cheese blend and flour tortillas...it was delicious! My daughter's eyes got big and she said they tasted like the local Mexican restaurant. This sauce was so fresh and it definitely made the dish great. This recipe made more than needed for a 9x13 Pyrex so I will increase it by about a quarter next time and make two 9x13 dishes and freeze half. I could not find Ancho or Pasilla peppers at the grocery store so I decided on using Pablano and Jalapeno after studying the pepper use and hotness chart the store provided. It turned out to be more of a white or green sauce rather than red like the picture here on the website. I will definitely make this sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This sauce made my enchiladas taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I used green chilies instead of ancho and pasilla peppers. The taste is outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
We were curious about making our own enchilada sauce so we gave this a try. The chilies, like several reviewers said, were a royal pain even though I tried to 'steam' off the skins we still had to scrape the pulp. I also went to 3 different markets looking for the chilies- we're in an urban area with ethnic groceries and large "international" sections and good cross-section of produce in the regular markets but sadly no Latin grocery near us. I wound up getting New Mexico peppers instead of ancho/pasillas. Hubby bought a jar of sauce in case the recipe didn't work out; we followed the recipe, it smelled good and tasted OK but was lacking something. Added about 1/4 cup of the jar stuff and it immediately came together. We went on to make delicious enchiladas with my homemade refried beans. Will definitely try this again when we find the right peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I am giving this recipe a 5 star rating based solely on taste. The sauce is wonderful! Otherwise, it is a pain in the rear to make and very time consuming. Perhaps with more practice I can be satisfied with the time it takes to make this recipe. The results are worth it. I followed the recipe exactly as is except for one thing: I used a hand blender. Please save yourself the grief of blending in batches and risking getting burned by using a hand blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagemoon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Super eazy, super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This sauce was delicious! I only made a few minor changes, based on the ingredients I had on hand. I used about 10 Guajillo chilis and 5 of the smaller, hotter arbol for a rather pleasant afterburn. I also used Knorr tomato bouillon w/chicken flavor instead of the plain chicken broth. I used the sauce with shredded pheasant to make enchiladas and it was a spicy hit. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christin21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This sauce was absolutely PERFECT! The only thing I did differently was only used 2 cups broth instead of 3 and left out the onion because I just don't like onions. I had a hard time removing the skins so I just gave up and pureed them in with it and it was wonderful anyways. I loved the flavor it had and was really happy how it turned out. I was looking for something that more closely matched the authentic taste of my favorite Mexican restaurant and this was exactly what I had in mind, thanks for the recipe! (Also, mine ended up being a very dark red color, it sounds like there is quite a variety of what color others have turned out!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woods Cross, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States