Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This sauce was wonderful! I added a jalapeño and it really turned out great. I browned the flour and onions a little longer than the recipe said to, just until they turned a reddish-brown. I also didn’t add as much stock as was mentioned in the recipe. I read the reviews saying it was too runny so I added it a little bit at a time. This was really a great sauce. I was looking for something other than the canned sauce and this hit the spot. It wasn’t too spicy so if you’re looking for spice, add a jalapeno or two. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I tripled the recipe and will be freezing half of it tonight. The nice thing about this recipe is that you can adjust the chilie peppers to your taste and play with new varieties. My family has a long tradition of using chilie peppers. I learned it from my grandmother. Its really not as much work as this recipe says. Clean the outside of your chilie with a paper towel. Open the chilies and take out the stem and seeds. Over a hot, dry skillet (not in the oven), throw in the cleaned chilies. Heat inside and outside until it starts to get soft. You are just doing this to heat up the oils. There should be no smoking and you aren't really looking for a change of color. Once they are done, throw them in a pot of simmering water. Once the chilies are in, turn the pot off and let rest for 20-30 minutes. Save the water! After all that, I throw it in the blender and puree it. Add some of the water if needed to the blender. I like big chunks of garlic in my enchilada sauce, so I just pureed the chilies and left the stock, garlic and butter as is ( I don't use onion because I don't like them). It's much faster this way and still as tasty. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Finally, I've found an enchilada sauce recipe that equals the flavor found in my favorite Tucson restaurants. Easy to make, perfect consistency, and the "heat" can be adjusted according to the chiles use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
This sauce was good and probably very authentic but it didn't really thicken up like it was supposed to until it was cooking and even then it didn't get very thick. In addition, it took a lot longer than anticipated, primarily with the pepper preparations, toasting, soaking, scraping. Turned out fine just didn't seem worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This is a pretty easy recipe, a little on the thin side, though. Also, I found that the toasting of the chiles in the oven was a bit time-consuming. Especially when the same effect can be produced by quickly pan searing the chiles. To do this, I usually cut the peppers in half, remove the seeds, then over medium high heat I fry each half about 10-15 seconds per side, while applying pressure with a spatula. Then, just continue the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I gave 4 stars because of the pulp prep on this. Like many other reviewers, I just seeded, removed stems, and toasted on comal before soaking. No problems with color. For bitterness, add a little sugar till its to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Nice job! I would add that to skin peppers, after you remove them from oven, place them in a tightly covered plastic container with some water in the bottom. Put directly in fridge. After they cool, the skins will almost fall off of the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madhatter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Thank you! I used a blender to make the sauce (without the flour) as the old recipe I couldn't find did and I used Olive oil. No tomatoes! Real Enchilada sauce never had tomatoes! Thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
I made enchiladas for my whole family. Everyone LOVED them, the sauce is what really did it. They were all so amazed that I made the sauce and didn't simply use the store bought stuff (which I will never buy again). I doubled the number of chilies and added more flour. The hardest part was removing the pulp from the skin. The effort was well worth the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
fantastic recipe and so authentic! I thickened with corn flour, not white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States