Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I tripled the recipe and will be freezing half of it tonight. The nice thing about this recipe is that you can adjust the chilie peppers to your taste and play with new varieties. My family has a long tradition of using chilie peppers. I learned it from my grandmother. Its really not as much work as this recipe says. Clean the outside of your chilie with a paper towel. Open the chilies and take out the stem and seeds. Over a hot, dry skillet (not in the oven), throw in the cleaned chilies. Heat inside and outside until it starts to get soft. You are just doing this to heat up the oils. There should be no smoking and you aren't really looking for a change of color. Once they are done, throw them in a pot of simmering water. Once the chilies are in, turn the pot off and let rest for 20-30 minutes. Save the water! After all that, I throw it in the blender and puree it. Add some of the water if needed to the blender. I like big chunks of garlic in my enchilada sauce, so I just pureed the chilies and left the stock, garlic and butter as is ( I don't use onion because I don't like them). It's much faster this way and still as tasty. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
fantastic recipe and so authentic! I thickened with corn flour, not white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This recipe is very authentic. I'm from San Diego and this is the way they make enchilada sauce in many Mexican restaurants. It does take more time but it has a better flavor than the canned sauce I use when I'm in a hurry. You can use different dried chilis to get different tastes and degrees of spiciness. This sauce also works for making chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This recipe is the BEST! Family will literally drive from hours away when I make this enchilada sauce. I discovered it over 5 years ago and have never made or used another red sauce. It is a bit time consuming but SO worth every minute. Only complaint is that it goes so quickly once everyone starts eating! I make nearly exactly how the recipes instructs, maybe not using as much fluid, depending on the batch, and it comes out perfectly. I notice others discussing the consistency but I haven't had any trouble with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This is almost like my mother's recipe. We use three types of dried chiles. (California, Pasilla, and Ancho) Instead of scraping the chiles out we blend the chiles with a little water from the boiling proces. Strain the chili mixture and you end up with a base sauce. I freeze the base sauce in containers until I am ready to use it. I heat up the sauce and add add chicken buillon powder (Knorr brand) Sometimes I want a little spicier sauce and add chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
So easy, so delicious, what else could you ask for? The color was scary but that is not what its all about! I only used Fresno Chili peppers (its all I had) but it still tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rochester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Love this sauce. Made it today and I'll never buy canned sauce again.GREAT TASTE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Thank you! I used a blender to make the sauce (without the flour) as the old recipe I couldn't find did and I used Olive oil. No tomatoes! Real Enchilada sauce never had tomatoes! Thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Great! It really woke up my enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This sauce did not turn out well at all - it tasted more like chicken broth than enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States