Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Good beginning recipe for enchilada sauce but I found it bland on its own. I grew up on the authentic stuff in Latin America with the Mole style type. I think that you would have to adjust this to your own personal taste for sweetness, salt, spicy etc. I added extra cumin and made sure that I used a good (excellent?)quality Chili powder. If your chili powder doesn't really taste good this recipe won't either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Ayala Simmons
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
Can I say.... AUTHENTIC??!! This was very good, tastes alot like the nicer restaurants version, not your fast food mexican chains. It doesn't seem to thicken on the stove, but does in the oven. Only thing I reduced on was the 5 TABLESPOONS of HOT chili powder.... I decreased this to 5 TEASPOONS. Which was spicy and bold enough for my husband, but mild enough for me and our 4 kids. Thank you Anna Marie! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
Very authentic!! I will NEVER buy canned or packet sauce again!!!I sub half the chicken broth w/beef broth & add 1 cube beef boullion for beef enchiladas. I add chili 1 tbs at a time and adjust spice level depending on taste (5tbs was good for adults, maybe not for kids)... i would also suggest using wondra flour instd of reg. white flour to reduce lumps. if you are impatient like i am, you can add a little corn starch mixd w/broth to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I have made this recipe several times and have made afew changes I make the recipe on the stove top until right before I add the chocolate. I also add 5 cups of chicken broth instead of 4 1/2 cups. After adding the chicken broth which I add very slowly to keep a nice consistency, I add it to a crockpot with bone in skinless chicken breast and thighs, I then cook the chicken on low heat in the sauce for 10 hours, after this I take chicken out take off bone and shred, add 1/2 cup cold water mixed with flour to sauce mixture and after whisking this in to sauce, I then add chocolate to the sauce mixture, after this is done I set about 2 cups of sauce aside and then mix the rest of the sauce with the chicken meat. This is by far the best mexican style enchilada sauce that I've ever had! and it freezes and reheats nicely as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This is an excellent recipe! I LOVE IT! BUT beware! This is more of a MOLE sauce for enchiladas (chocolate & cinnamon) - NOT your typical red sauce. Be prepared to also adjust the chili used. Go slow and add as you like for your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
My wife and I just made a batch of this sauce today. Although we were hoping to have enough to make 8 to 10 enchiladas (and have extra sauce to pour over the top)...it didn't quite work out that way. BUT WHO CARES!! It was delicious. We actually ended up making a second batch so we could pour on top AND freeze some of it for later. The one thing I did do on the second batch was take a hand blender and smooth out all the "chunks" to make a smooth delicious sauce. Thanks very much for sharing...GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This was wonderful! I cut the chili powder down to 3 Tbl and it was plenty. I ended up simmering it for 30 minutes until it was to the thickness I desired (but I think it just enhanced the taste). I was concerned after tasting it before the chocolate went in - was thinking it wouldn't taste very good at all but the chocolate made all the difference. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of bittersweet. I used it on beef enchiladas (used left-over roast meat). I sprinkled some Mexican blend cheese on top as well as some chopped green onions while they were baking. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
This sauce was SO delicious. Although you really have to have mature taste buds for this one. It was delicious and rich, the chocolate and cinnamon make it divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
We are an enchilada family, and this wasn't the favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I use coconut oil to be more healthful, and it tastes just great! I also use organic, unsweetened cocoa powder. It makes it less sweet, and just PERFECT! I also puree the onions for a better texture. I've added it to my arsenal of "secret family recipes" ;) Yum, yum, yum! Even my foodie brother asked me for the recipe, which is HUGE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States