Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Sorry but this one just didn't work right...it came out with a bit of flavor but just seemed flat. My husband agreed. It didn't cost too much to make. It did help a bit to add some tomato paste and more cumin, but we just couldn't salvage it into something we liked. We are spoiled for really good Mexican food from back home but now that we live in London nothing seems to catch up with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I use coconut oil to be more healthful, and it tastes just great! I also use organic, unsweetened cocoa powder. It makes it less sweet, and just PERFECT! I also puree the onions for a better texture. I've added it to my arsenal of "secret family recipes" ;) Yum, yum, yum! Even my foodie brother asked me for the recipe, which is HUGE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
can't believe i ever bought this in can... fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.s.
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
The whole family liked this sauce. It did take quite a while to reduce to desired consistency, but in the end it was worth it. Only used a very small handful of choc. chips. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
We enjoyed this sauce. I made a double batch and added just a little tomato sauce to adjust the recipe to our personal taste. My son has a wheat allergy, so I did not thicken the sauce with anything. It was very thin, but by the time my enchiladas were done baking, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
A great sauce on its own; far better than canned sauce. Not too spicy for kids who aren't fussy, and a great launchpad for a spicier sauce for the adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Excellent sauce. My husband is Mexican and is used to authentic Mexican food and he loved this. We changed the serving size to 6. We used this with "Tacos in Pasta Shells" by grannycancook on Allrecipes. It was the perfect Mexican meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
We were looking for a quick enchilada sauce that would work with the ingredients we had in the house - so I made a few substitutions and it still turned out amazing! I ran out of fresh garlic - so I used garlic powder and I was skeptical it would taste good - but it was really good. Also, I didn't have ancho chili powder, so I used a combination of paprika and cayenne pepper. We also used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of baking bars. With all that substitution, it was still an extremely good sauce and I'd highly recommend it. Thanks Anna Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I've made this several times and it is a winner! My whole family enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This is a great flavorful sauce. I also used chocolate chips and it turned out great. Will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States