Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This sauce was awesome. However, I am giving it 4 stars because I was totally blind sided by the heat. Five tablespoons of chili was way too hot for me (and I like spicy). I thought I would go into cardiac arrest for a minute there :). This recipe with 5 tbl spoons of chili is for those who want their tongue ripped out! I had to make a whole nother batch using no chili powder. I then combined the two batches, which came out perfect. I'll freeze the extra for next time. There should be a table guide for spicy levels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
The only reason this is getting 4 stars instead of 5 is that the recipe is missing salt (which it needs IMO) and not quite specific enough re: chili powder (are we talking the stuff you use to make chili, or powdered chili peppers)? I used the stuff you use for chili, but a top quality, robust version (from Penzeys). I can't figure out how anyone found this to be bland. I tried this because I forgot to buy sauce and didn't want to go back to the store. Glad I made that choice! I was out of oregano and chocolate, but it was still good (put in a little cocoa powder). I did add a smidge of tomato sauce because I had a little bit left in an open can. This will be a go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I've been making this sauce for years. I bake the "Mild Cheesy Chicken Enchiladas" in it and I've yet to meet anyone who doesn't love it. It doesn't matter to me whether this is an authentic enchilada sauce or a mole sauce - it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYMCNAMARA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Cowichan, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I rated this lower simply because I wouldn't call this an "enchilada sauce". It's much more a mole sauce, so the name can be misleading. I thought it was very good as a mole sauce, but definitely be prepared for more of a mole taste, rather than true (tomato) enchilada taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Great sauce! I added some fire-roasted green chili peppers to it and it really added to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This was a good base, various spices were used, but it was missing something (besides salt) The end result was almost more of a mole rather than enchilada sauce. It definitly did taste authentic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Goldman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Isle, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
We found this very bland, even with new jars of seasonings. I doctored it quite a bit to our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This was fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Froggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rupert, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This recipe is so good. It is restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Rosenthal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States