Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Used this with the Spicy Chicken Enchiladas form this site. Considering that this was the first time that we have had Enchilada it was o.k. but nothing to write home about. This sauce tasted fine. I have nothing to compare it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Best recipe I have found here! Authentic yet simple. This is just the sauce so you can make your own variation of enchiladas using this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
bland, needs a lot of tweaking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I rated this recipe 4 stars because I had to tinker a bit with it. To take care of the bland taste, I added 1 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper along with the other spices and used 5 chicken bouillon cubes (Wyler's chicken flavor with herbs and spices) dissolved in 4 cups of hot water (instead of using the 4 1/2 cups of chicken broth) and added 6 oz of tomato sauce before reducing the recipe. I liked this recipe because it was easy to play with. The end results were fantastic. My kid's cleaned their plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This had a great taste, very easy to make, and will make again. I used less Chilli Powder worried that it may be too hot for us. But next time will put all 5 tablespoons. I will also make it cook a little less, it was a bit too thick by the time it came out of the over as I used it for Enchilada Casserole. Thanks for sharing Anna Marie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This sauce is superb. I made some minor changes that seemed to suit our family's palate. I reduced the amount of chili powder to 3 tablespoons with the idea that I could always add more if needed. I used a combination of New Mexican chili powder and regular chili powder. I also added approximately 1/4 cup of Negro Modelo beer (dark beer) to give it a bit of a bite. My family loved it! I used it over enchiladas filled with chicken, spinach and ricotta. Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHECOOKS2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I'm giving it 3 stars because I'm certain the failure was something I did. Either way, it didn't turn out good. Enchildas with no sauce tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This sauce was awesome. However, I am giving it 4 stars because I was totally blind sided by the heat. Five tablespoons of chili was way too hot for me (and I like spicy). I thought I would go into cardiac arrest for a minute there :). This recipe with 5 tbl spoons of chili is for those who want their tongue ripped out! I had to make a whole nother batch using no chili powder. I then combined the two batches, which came out perfect. I'll freeze the extra for next time. There should be a table guide for spicy levels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
The only reason this is getting 4 stars instead of 5 is that the recipe is missing salt (which it needs IMO) and not quite specific enough re: chili powder (are we talking the stuff you use to make chili, or powdered chili peppers)? I used the stuff you use for chili, but a top quality, robust version (from Penzeys). I can't figure out how anyone found this to be bland. I tried this because I forgot to buy sauce and didn't want to go back to the store. Glad I made that choice! I was out of oregano and chocolate, but it was still good (put in a little cocoa powder). I did add a smidge of tomato sauce because I had a little bit left in an open can. This will be a go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I've been making this sauce for years. I bake the "Mild Cheesy Chicken Enchiladas" in it and I've yet to meet anyone who doesn't love it. It doesn't matter to me whether this is an authentic enchilada sauce or a mole sauce - it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYMCNAMARA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Cowichan, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States