Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by AlgaeLG
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I'm not familiar enough with enchilada sauce to know if this is authentic or not, but I do know that it is good. It is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Champlin, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Awesome! I will never buy enchilada sauce again! This is much closer to the mexican restaurant enchiladas I like than anything else I've found. It can be too salty if you use regular chicken broth so I would recommend reduced sodium broth. (I am a salt-a-holic so this is something coming from me!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
It was ok... Not as good as what you can get in pretty much any standard Mexican restaurant. It was good enough to use, but I'm not sure I would go out of my way to make it again. The recipe makes tons of sauce. I recommend making half the recipe unless you want to keep a batch fot the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
the best I've ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was pretty good, but after reading all of the other reviews, I expected something more of it. I found the cinnamon flavor to be a little strong at first and the aftertaste to be somewhat acidic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
A good sauce, better than canned ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This was so fabulous! I live in England now, and can't get decent enchilada sauce anywhere, but all of these ingredients are readily available. It reminded me of my favorite Mexican restaurant's enchiladas from back home... Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Didn't have any chocolate, but was still good. The cumin really made this sauce stand out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Lester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Made this sauce iin a pinch with what i had on hand and I must say it was very good. I used garlic powder since I had no garlic and left out the chocolate since I had none. I did stir in some cocoa chili powder with a little sugar in place. The sauce does thicken in the oven. I also used just 3 cups of broth as I was in a rush and didn't want to wait forever to reduce. For a rush job it was very good and will probably be my go to sauce from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This is fantastic. Made it tonight and served it over some homemade beef enchiladas. It is going into the keeper pile. Next I'm going to try and make some to freeze. If it works I can make enchiladas anytime we want. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States