Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Made this sauce iin a pinch with what i had on hand and I must say it was very good. I used garlic powder since I had no garlic and left out the chocolate since I had none. I did stir in some cocoa chili powder with a little sugar in place. The sauce does thicken in the oven. I also used just 3 cups of broth as I was in a rush and didn't want to wait forever to reduce. For a rush job it was very good and will probably be my go to sauce from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This is fantastic. Made it tonight and served it over some homemade beef enchiladas. It is going into the keeper pile. Next I'm going to try and make some to freeze. If it works I can make enchiladas anytime we want. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Great! you can leave the cinn. and choco. out for a different flavor. As the recipe reads it tastes similar to a mole sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This was an easy recipe, but took a very long time to cook down to an acceptable consistency. The next time I make it I will start earlier to allow the cook down time. I'm not sure what hot chili powder is (isn't it all hot?). I only had plain, but I still started with 3T just to be safe. I worked up to 4 1/2 T before it was spicy enough for my family. If there is such a thing as hot chili powder, 5T would have been WAY too hot! I also added about 1/4 tsp of black pepper. Salt was not necessary. The chocolate really added to the flavor. I used the sauce over spinach enchiladas from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
The sauce is amazing. The taste is close to what I assume authentic could be. I'm not a fan of the tomato based sauces. However I would recommend a low saute to lock the flavor in. I tried it the first time on Med-High and it scourched the sauce. Too hot. If your doing electric 3 or 4 is fine, if using fire a low steady flame is key for the flavor. But otherwise it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
4.5 stars. If you want a "green" enchilada sauce...dont go nuts with the chili powder and half the chicken broth/stock with 1/2 a good tomatillo style salsa (or use a can grn chilies) . I use Goya brand. I also add about 1/4 cup chopped cilantro as well. I don't care for the chocolate for a grn sauce. Only use a touch of cinnamon as it can overwhelm the final results. Instead of white onion I go with chopped green onions when I have them. I tblsp chili powder w/same amount of cumin works for me. Add some salt & grnd pepper too. Couldn't find a green enchilada recipe so tweaked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I tried this last night, Friday 6/24/11 And it is probably the best, most flavorful and authentic Enchilada sauce I have tasted since my last trip to Zihuatanejo, Mexico. I salute the author and give joyus, tearful thanks!! My family & guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Very good, a little bit sweeter than I would have liked but the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDEGRAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was delicious! It looked a little grainy and wasn't too smooth due to the onions and herbs, but it was wonderful. I used powdered garlic and added a tsp of sugar to cut the bitter from the peppers. I only had regular chili powder so I added a hefty pinch of cayenne. I subbed cocoa powder. Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This sauce is amazing!!!! It is so much better than anything in a can and it is VERY easy to make. I tweaked the recipe a bit (like most cooks do) but the base was the same. I highly recommend this to all lovers of authentic mexican cuisine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States