Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This is absolutely fabulous!! I put in too much garlic, but this is definitely a keeper! Going to make bigger batches and can it to have on the shelf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hotchkiss, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Fantastic! Very much like a mole' sauce, used it on my enchiladas and was super happy with it. I did add some extra flour to thicken it and a little bit of sugar to sweeten to our taste. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Excellent as written. I used and immersion blender at the end, prior to adding the chocolate, to really smooth it all together. The chocolate mutes well after cooking. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Love this since it is not tomato based!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Bear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thelittlecook
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
The recipe is pretty good. I decided to leave out the chocolate, and I decreased the amount of chili powder to 3 tablespoons, which was still quite spicy. I also slightly reduced the amount of cinnamon. Next time I plan to try adding a bit of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Very good! Wanted something to go with mexican eggrolls (rice, black beans, corn, and cilantro) and this looked promising. Made according to the recipe except left the chili powder out since we're not fans. Went perfectly as a dipping sauce. Will definitely make again and even use as an enchilada sauce for actual enchiladas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I was very skeptical about this--even after it was cooked! It's not your typical canned enchilada sauce. However, it was spectacular on the chicken enchiladas I made! I put in 3 Tbs of the hot chili powder and it was plenty! You have to stir constantly until it's thickened. Then I simmered it another 30 minutes to let the flavors intensify while I assembled the enchiladas in the pan. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Incredible! But I added one 15 oz can of tomato sauce. It made enough sauce for two 9 X 11 pans of enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This was awesome, got rave reviews from the entire family, will definitely make again. Only used the 32 oz. box of chicken broth (4 cups) and came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
So good! I only wish I had made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States