Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
OMG!!! I almost didn't try this recipe after reading the reviews saying things like this is for a sophisticated palette only, or this is a far cry from the tomato-base you're used to, but none of the tomato-based sauces had quite the same reviews, so I came back to this one. SO GLAD I DID. HOLY SMOKES this stuff is amazing. I kept spooning some out of the pan to taste it because it was so amazing. It reminds me of the enchiladas I used to eat at this truly authentic Mexican eatery (not the Americanized one most of us are used to). There is such depth of flavor. I'm sure some kitchen enthusiasts would cringe at this, but I didn't have any semisweet chocolate left so I sprinkled in a bit of cocoa powder instead. I also didn't want it to be too spicy for my 3-year-old, so I cut down a bit on the chili powder and tripled the cumin. I just tossed together some ground beef, green pepper, and spices for the insides but the sauce truly made the enchiladas. My picky toddler gobbled this stuff up, as did my picky grown-up neighbor. DELICIOUS! You won't regret this one. It's not your traditional tomato base, true, but so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jstorment

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This was amazing! My entire Family loved it. I followed the directions exactly and the end result was a rich and flavorful sauce. I used the entire batch in and on top of my baked chicken enchiladas which serves six.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gulgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This is a very tasty recipe! I was concerned about it being chunky from adding the chicken broth into the flour, so I added the broth first and slowly added the flour with whisking. I think the biggest mistake I made the first time I made it was to over-reduce it. The chocolate really thickens it a lot, so if it looks like enchilada sauce before you add the chocolate, you're going to have to add more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I am a firm believer in making things from scratch. I did not care for this, and I had everyone try it befor I put it on the enchiladas and no one wanted more than the taste. I then ran to the store for a can of enchilada sauce. I have to say it was MUCH better after I put in the chocolate. I went over and over the recipe thinking I missed something, if I did, I can't figure it out. This is not something I will even attempt again. I wish I knew what happened, was SO looking forward to trying this based on the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This is absolutely fabulous!! I put in too much garlic, but this is definitely a keeper! Going to make bigger batches and can it to have on the shelf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Hotchkiss, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Fantastic! Very much like a mole' sauce, used it on my enchiladas and was super happy with it. I did add some extra flour to thicken it and a little bit of sugar to sweeten to our taste. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Excellent as written. I used and immersion blender at the end, prior to adding the chocolate, to really smooth it all together. The chocolate mutes well after cooking. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Love this since it is not tomato based!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thelittlecook
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
The recipe is pretty good. I decided to leave out the chocolate, and I decreased the amount of chili powder to 3 tablespoons, which was still quite spicy. I also slightly reduced the amount of cinnamon. Next time I plan to try adding a bit of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Very good! Wanted something to go with mexican eggrolls (rice, black beans, corn, and cilantro) and this looked promising. Made according to the recipe except left the chili powder out since we're not fans. Went perfectly as a dipping sauce. Will definitely make again and even use as an enchilada sauce for actual enchiladas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States