Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Amazing recipe. No changes. Froze half and used for enchiladas the next week. Wish I had more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I made this as written, except I didn't realize that I only had a small amount of chili powder. I substituted paprika instead and it was very good. I only made 1/2 of the recipe as I was using it for wet burritos and needed a smaller amount. I loved the hint of sweetness the chocolate gives this sauce...like adobo sauce. This one will be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I've adored this recipe many times and do use an emulsion blender to smooth it out. It makes so much I could put the leftovers in a squirt bottle and use on other dishes or tortilla chips as a snack. I don't like to read reviews giving accolades to a recipe that they have tweaked, but a couple of times I did not have ingrediants on hand and this recipe is very forgiving. I've used a pinch of Italian herb seasoning or 5-Spice mix when out of oregano, a few splashes of beer when not enough chicken stock on hand, a dash or two of Shirracha sauce if chili powder is not spicey, etc. But the old tried and true comeback to recipe is this one. Kudos to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Taste is great but a little more time consuming than I would have thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This came out kind of bland, maybe because I used my own stock which was light so I added some salt; normally I would make this with just oil and water and all dry spices. I decided to add just a TBSP of tomato paste and it came up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I love this sauce! I've tried several home made enchilada sauces and they are good but this time I was looking for something different. This one fit the bill and tastes so good and has such a depth of flavor that I haven't had in other sauces. It does taste similar to a mole and I loved that it didn't have tomato sauce since I was looking for one without it. I will definitely be making this sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I do not think I could have screwed this recipe up more than I did, so it is a real testament to the recipe that it still turned out AMAZING!!! I followed the recipe exactly, until I got to the part when you add the flour and chili powder. I was multi-tasking in the kitchen and accidentally grabbed the cinnamon instead of the the chili powder. Add I added two tablespoons before I realized my mistake!!!! Oh my! I almost tossed the whole thing, but I had just made chicken broth and had quite a bit, so I thought what the heck, maybe I could fix it. I don't have ANY idea what measurements I used after that point...only that I used the exact ingredients called for, with no additions. I added and stirred and tasted, over and over again until that "Eureka" moment finally came! I am so, so glad I stuck with it. This is absolutely wonderful! Very authentic, and the flavors are much more sophisticated then anything you will ever get in a can! A quick note- I added the broth very slowly and whisked constantly and did not have a single problem with lumps. This deserves way more than 5 stars, and I can NOT wait to decide what I most want to cook with it. Thank you, thank you, a thousand times thank you Anna Marie! This is tremendous :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
OMG!!! I almost didn't try this recipe after reading the reviews saying things like this is for a sophisticated palette only, or this is a far cry from the tomato-base you're used to, but none of the tomato-based sauces had quite the same reviews, so I came back to this one. SO GLAD I DID. HOLY SMOKES this stuff is amazing. I kept spooning some out of the pan to taste it because it was so amazing. It reminds me of the enchiladas I used to eat at this truly authentic Mexican eatery (not the Americanized one most of us are used to). There is such depth of flavor. I'm sure some kitchen enthusiasts would cringe at this, but I didn't have any semisweet chocolate left so I sprinkled in a bit of cocoa powder instead. I also didn't want it to be too spicy for my 3-year-old, so I cut down a bit on the chili powder and tripled the cumin. I just tossed together some ground beef, green pepper, and spices for the insides but the sauce truly made the enchiladas. My picky toddler gobbled this stuff up, as did my picky grown-up neighbor. DELICIOUS! You won't regret this one. It's not your traditional tomato base, true, but so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jstorment

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This was amazing! My entire Family loved it. I followed the directions exactly and the end result was a rich and flavorful sauce. I used the entire batch in and on top of my baked chicken enchiladas which serves six.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gulgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This is a very tasty recipe! I was concerned about it being chunky from adding the chicken broth into the flour, so I added the broth first and slowly added the flour with whisking. I think the biggest mistake I made the first time I made it was to over-reduce it. The chocolate really thickens it a lot, so if it looks like enchilada sauce before you add the chocolate, you're going to have to add more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States