Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
Very authentic!! I will NEVER buy canned or packet sauce again!!!I sub half the chicken broth w/beef broth & add 1 cube beef boullion for beef enchiladas. I add chili 1 tbs at a time and adjust spice level depending on taste (5tbs was good for adults, maybe not for kids)... i would also suggest using wondra flour instd of reg. white flour to reduce lumps. if you are impatient like i am, you can add a little corn starch mixd w/broth to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
Very good, next time I will add a bit more chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
This is the best Enchilada Sauce I have tasted yet!! I have tried other recipes, but this one really taste more authentic than the others. Thanks Anna for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
Good recipe to balance out other spicy foods you may serve with it. It was great baked over the cheese & onion enchiladas. Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
I'd just like to say that my boyfriend never liked enchiladas until I made them with this sauce! I've tried a lot of them and this is the one I'm going to rely on from now on. It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
Good sauce, watch out not to use too much chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
My husband and I thought this was wonderful. I don't think I'll buy the canned sauce again. This was very easy to make and tastes much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
Sooo good!! My family loved this, especially myself and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
Great sauce! I cut back on both the garlic and the hot chili powder, but it certainly deserves five stars in my book! I won't be using the canned sauces ever again! Thanks for the post, Anna Marie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
Excellent sauce! It's more of a mole sauce versus a typical red enchilda sauce. I followed the recipe exactly as written, but added some crushed red pepper flakes since I didn't have hot chili powder. Thanks Anna Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States