Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I doubled this with the chicken broth I had in freezer from chicken I boiled a month ago for another enchilada dinner.. This recipe surpasses any enchilada sauce I've ever purchased. Hooray for a great Basic Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nokomis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Priest River, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Not what I expected, very bland and I had to thicken. Wont try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raosgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
excellent enchilada sauce recipe, very authentic! i'm originally from el paso and my grandmother's maid always made her sauces from scratch and with chocolate (mole style). very nice flavor. i made enchiladas for a party and everyone loved this sauce and wanted to know the recipe. will continue to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This is the best sauce I have ever tasted,And very easy to make.Thanks Anna Marie it was truly great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
Big fan. I've thickened it with corn starch, but the last couple times I cut the chicken broth in half, and it came out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
This sauce is excellent and authentic Mexican -- in Mexico it is called Mole. It is derived from the Aztec Indians before the Spaniards arrived. Anyway, Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Could you give this recipe no stars? I can't even begin to describe how awful it is. It doesn't resemble mexican cuisine at all. I'm so glad that I didn't pour it over the chicken and beef enchiladas that I made from a recipe from this site. Those were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I loved this sauce! It sounds scarey, but it is excellent. Hubby is not sure it is better than the stuff out of the can, but he'll just have to adjust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Great sauce! The best compliment I received was that the meal was restaurant quality. No changes made. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
Can I say.... AUTHENTIC??!! This was very good, tastes alot like the nicer restaurants version, not your fast food mexican chains. It doesn't seem to thicken on the stove, but does in the oven. Only thing I reduced on was the 5 TABLESPOONS of HOT chili powder.... I decreased this to 5 TEASPOONS. Which was spicy and bold enough for my husband, but mild enough for me and our 4 kids. Thank you Anna Marie! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States