Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Not tasty by my standards - do not like TexMex style and this is TexMex! Tastes burnt to me. Perhaps it's the type of chili powder??? or too much chili powder? not sure - I had to doctor it up with tomato puree and more spices: however I and my husband still did not like it. But gave to my neighbor who thinks it will taste great if reduced once more with chicken stock. I like Ortega's Enchilada Sauce and would like to find a recipe that is similar to it! Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCKERAMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
FABULOUS!! Instructions were a bit misleading at "reduce", meaning reduce liquid by cooking NOT reduce heat. As this is a roux based sauce, reducing the heat means it wont thicken. Suggest using authentic Mexican semisweet chocolate for just the right traditional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I doubled this with the chicken broth I had in freezer from chicken I boiled a month ago for another enchilada dinner.. This recipe surpasses any enchilada sauce I've ever purchased. Hooray for a great Basic Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nokomis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Priest River, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Not what I expected, very bland and I had to thicken. Wont try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raosgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
excellent enchilada sauce recipe, very authentic! i'm originally from el paso and my grandmother's maid always made her sauces from scratch and with chocolate (mole style). very nice flavor. i made enchiladas for a party and everyone loved this sauce and wanted to know the recipe. will continue to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This is the best sauce I have ever tasted,And very easy to make.Thanks Anna Marie it was truly great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
Big fan. I've thickened it with corn starch, but the last couple times I cut the chicken broth in half, and it came out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
This sauce is excellent and authentic Mexican -- in Mexico it is called Mole. It is derived from the Aztec Indians before the Spaniards arrived. Anyway, Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Could you give this recipe no stars? I can't even begin to describe how awful it is. It doesn't resemble mexican cuisine at all. I'm so glad that I didn't pour it over the chicken and beef enchiladas that I made from a recipe from this site. Those were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I loved this sauce! It sounds scarey, but it is excellent. Hubby is not sure it is better than the stuff out of the can, but he'll just have to adjust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States