Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I loved this sauce! It sounds scarey, but it is excellent. Hubby is not sure it is better than the stuff out of the can, but he'll just have to adjust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Great sauce! The best compliment I received was that the meal was restaurant quality. No changes made. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
Can I say.... AUTHENTIC??!! This was very good, tastes alot like the nicer restaurants version, not your fast food mexican chains. It doesn't seem to thicken on the stove, but does in the oven. Only thing I reduced on was the 5 TABLESPOONS of HOT chili powder.... I decreased this to 5 TEASPOONS. Which was spicy and bold enough for my husband, but mild enough for me and our 4 kids. Thank you Anna Marie! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This was very good. However, the sauce did not want to thicken much. But, when I baked it with the Enchiladas (by Donna on this website) it was just the perfect consistancy. My only complaint is this was a little time consuming & much more expensive than the canned sauce, which is very close in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAYCEEBUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Very good, very authentic. I live in S. CA and am very picky about Mexican food. I have been looking for something like this forever. I too added an extra chocolate. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IBTOUGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
I have been searching for the perfect enchilade sauce for years and this is the one. Sweet with a kick. Perfect. Also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
I highly reccommend this recipe! I have never used anything besides the canned stuff (but am trying to improve my culinary skills) and it was super easy and had great flavor. It is almost like a mole sauce, everyone I've made it for has loved it, except for a couple people who said they just don't like mole sauces. Much better than your typical red sauce, I have made this dozens of times and it's always excellent, must be the chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
I'm not a big fan of enchildas, but this recipe has unique flavor. Tastes like a combination of enchilda and a hint of mole sauce together. It works, we thought it was great. I've used it on beef enchildas and cheese,onion and jalapeno enchildas. Can't wait to try it out on the in-laws (who are hispanic).Thank you so much for this easy, AWESOME recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
This was the first time I have ever made enchiladas. I made half the quantity of this sauce and my husband loved it. I was surprised at how easy it was to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
Very authentic!! I will NEVER buy canned or packet sauce again!!!I sub half the chicken broth w/beef broth & add 1 cube beef boullion for beef enchiladas. I add chili 1 tbs at a time and adjust spice level depending on taste (5tbs was good for adults, maybe not for kids)... i would also suggest using wondra flour instd of reg. white flour to reduce lumps. if you are impatient like i am, you can add a little corn starch mixd w/broth to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States