Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Well this sauce got mixed reviews in my family. My daughters really liked it, hubby said it was ok, and I was very disappointed...maybe because I set my expectations to high? I may try it again and revamp it some like cutting back on the amount of chili powder and using a different brand and adding more cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Good beginning recipe for enchilada sauce but I found it bland on its own. I grew up on the authentic stuff in Latin America with the Mole style type. I think that you would have to adjust this to your own personal taste for sweetness, salt, spicy etc. I added extra cumin and made sure that I used a good (excellent?)quality Chili powder. If your chili powder doesn't really taste good this recipe won't either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Ayala Simmons
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Not tasty by my standards - do not like TexMex style and this is TexMex! Tastes burnt to me. Perhaps it's the type of chili powder??? or too much chili powder? not sure - I had to doctor it up with tomato puree and more spices: however I and my husband still did not like it. But gave to my neighbor who thinks it will taste great if reduced once more with chicken stock. I like Ortega's Enchilada Sauce and would like to find a recipe that is similar to it! Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCKERAMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
FABULOUS!! Instructions were a bit misleading at "reduce", meaning reduce liquid by cooking NOT reduce heat. As this is a roux based sauce, reducing the heat means it wont thicken. Suggest using authentic Mexican semisweet chocolate for just the right traditional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I doubled this with the chicken broth I had in freezer from chicken I boiled a month ago for another enchilada dinner.. This recipe surpasses any enchilada sauce I've ever purchased. Hooray for a great Basic Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nokomis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Priest River, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Not what I expected, very bland and I had to thicken. Wont try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
excellent enchilada sauce recipe, very authentic! i'm originally from el paso and my grandmother's maid always made her sauces from scratch and with chocolate (mole style). very nice flavor. i made enchiladas for a party and everyone loved this sauce and wanted to know the recipe. will continue to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This is the best sauce I have ever tasted,And very easy to make.Thanks Anna Marie it was truly great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
Big fan. I've thickened it with corn starch, but the last couple times I cut the chicken broth in half, and it came out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
This sauce is excellent and authentic Mexican -- in Mexico it is called Mole. It is derived from the Aztec Indians before the Spaniards arrived. Anyway, Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States