Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I really liked this recipe. The whole family thought it was great! I used chicken/tomato boullion instead of chicken broth. I also left out the chocolate chips because I used too much cinnamon and thought it was sweet enough without them. Will use the chips on the next try. Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holgate, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Bavaria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
My husband said it tastes like something they should make in a resturant! It's a "keeper" & won't use can sauce ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
LOVE IT! I was making Beef Enchiladas II (from this site) and needed a sauce. I didn't have any on hand and to be honest had never tried enchilada sauce before. Anyway, this was really nice and I will for sure be making it again. I did tweak a little and halved the recipe but added a little less chili powder and a tablespoon more flour. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I was hesitant about no tomatoes in this sause, but it was excellent! I used 3 tablespoons (instead of 5) of the chili powder and it was still plenty spicy. I'm a vegetarian so I made it with veggie broth instead of chicken and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
My wife and I just made a batch of this sauce today. Although we were hoping to have enough to make 8 to 10 enchiladas (and have extra sauce to pour over the top)...it didn't quite work out that way. BUT WHO CARES!! It was delicious. We actually ended up making a second batch so we could pour on top AND freeze some of it for later. The one thing I did do on the second batch was take a hand blender and smooth out all the "chunks" to make a smooth delicious sauce. Thanks very much for sharing...GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This was an incredible surprise. I was wanting to make enchiladas and did not have sauce...I live a good 25 miles out of town so a quick trip was not possible. This is so easy and it is off the charts delicious. I will never buy sauce again. Thanks for sharing this!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Be careful on the cinnamon. I put a little too much and you can take it in the dish. Otherwise, not a bad recipe to use without tomato sauce. Served excellent with Spanish Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Wow! Incredible - you'll never eat canned sauce again. I had another recipe that I had been using, but then decided to try this one and I'm so glad that I did. I did have to let it simmer for about 30 to 45 minutes to thicken up, but it did it on it's on without cornstarch or flour. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Authentic taste! This sauce was excellent, the whole family loved it and my picky child asked for seconds. We will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I made exactly like the recipe and it was the very best enchilada sauce I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States