Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This was not to my liking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Excellant this is the one I believe I was looking for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Black Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Shannon, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This was wonderful! I cut the chili powder down to 3 Tbl and it was plenty. I ended up simmering it for 30 minutes until it was to the thickness I desired (but I think it just enhanced the taste). I was concerned after tasting it before the chocolate went in - was thinking it wouldn't taste very good at all but the chocolate made all the difference. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of bittersweet. I used it on beef enchiladas (used left-over roast meat). I sprinkled some Mexican blend cheese on top as well as some chopped green onions while they were baking. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This was really good...I cut the recipe in half, but also added red pepper flakes for a little more spice. Served this with sweet potato black bean enchiladas. Will never buy canned again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
So good, I use this for spinach stuffed enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This recipe is fantastic!My family loved it. The prep time is minimal, which for me is the most important part being a working mom with 3 kids. Oustanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I have made this recipe several times and have made afew changes I make the recipe on the stove top until right before I add the chocolate. I also add 5 cups of chicken broth instead of 4 1/2 cups. After adding the chicken broth which I add very slowly to keep a nice consistency, I add it to a crockpot with bone in skinless chicken breast and thighs, I then cook the chicken on low heat in the sauce for 10 hours, after this I take chicken out take off bone and shred, add 1/2 cup cold water mixed with flour to sauce mixture and after whisking this in to sauce, I then add chocolate to the sauce mixture, after this is done I set about 2 cups of sauce aside and then mix the rest of the sauce with the chicken meat. This is by far the best mexican style enchilada sauce that I've ever had! and it freezes and reheats nicely as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I used this to top my chicken enchiladas, it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarea Luckey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Yum Yum Yum. I was looking for a non-tomato based sauce and this was it! I made this sauce to go over my chicken enchiladas instead of a sour cream sauce. It is a great healthy alternative. My husband, brother & sister in-laws loved it. I reduced the chili powder to 4 tablespoons. I had to add 2 extra tablespoons of flour while simmering to help thicken the sauce. (It will thicken some when you bake it) The roux isn’t traditional. It is a dry mixture…to get the flour to blend right, just add a bit of the chicken broth. Overall it was perfect and I will definitely use this over and over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States