Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I loved this sauce. It had way more flavor than any store bought sauce. Reminded me of authentic mexican food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Saint Charles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This is the BEST enchilada sauce I've ever had!! I always make a double batch to have some in the freezer. My husband and kids (10 and 13) love it, too, and brag about my amazing enchiladas to everyone. This is one recipe I don't add my own "touch" to- it's perfect as is! Thanks, Anna Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This is an excellent recipe! I LOVE IT! BUT beware! This is more of a MOLE sauce for enchiladas (chocolate & cinnamon) - NOT your typical red sauce. Be prepared to also adjust the chili used. Go slow and add as you like for your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Golden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Great sauce. The more we ate, the better it got. Cannot believe the difference by just adding that little bit of chocolate. Don't even think of trying it without the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This was not to my liking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Excellant this is the one I believe I was looking for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Black Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Shannon, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This was wonderful! I cut the chili powder down to 3 Tbl and it was plenty. I ended up simmering it for 30 minutes until it was to the thickness I desired (but I think it just enhanced the taste). I was concerned after tasting it before the chocolate went in - was thinking it wouldn't taste very good at all but the chocolate made all the difference. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of bittersweet. I used it on beef enchiladas (used left-over roast meat). I sprinkled some Mexican blend cheese on top as well as some chopped green onions while they were baking. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This was really good...I cut the recipe in half, but also added red pepper flakes for a little more spice. Served this with sweet potato black bean enchiladas. Will never buy canned again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
So good, I use this for spinach stuffed enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This recipe is fantastic!My family loved it. The prep time is minimal, which for me is the most important part being a working mom with 3 kids. Oustanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States