Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is very yummy! I will make it again. I actually made extra to freeze and use at a later time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Very tasty! My husband who isn't very keen on Mexican food loved it as much as I did. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
My husband and I LOVED this sauce. He had no idea that the secret ingredient was chocolate. I attempted to make my own sauce because store-bought is always too spicy for my kids. I only put 1 tsp. of Chili Powder. It was spicy enough for us and too spicy for my kids. I guess my Chili Powder is really fresh and really hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
this was my first attempt at making a brown sauce and it was really good. Had to fight through the beginning with the strange texture. Just keep stirring and add the broth and it will turn out fine. I reduced the cinnamon after reading other reviews and was glad I did. We froze the other part and just used it again this week to make turkey enchiladas (had to use up the thanksgiving turkey!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baltimore Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This was great! VERY HOT. Also, might want to cut back the semi-sweet chocolate a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
My family loves this sauce. It really adds a nice flavor to even packaged frozen enchiladas for a quick weekday meal. Great idea to double it and keep some in the freezer. I follow this recipe as is with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLWARREN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA
Living In: Setauket, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Wow...Wonderful stuff, I used "Mild" chili power it had enough kick for my family, I also strained it into a bowl taking out the chunky stuff. thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I loved this sauce. It had way more flavor than any store bought sauce. Reminded me of authentic mexican food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Saint Charles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This is the BEST enchilada sauce I've ever had!! I always make a double batch to have some in the freezer. My husband and kids (10 and 13) love it, too, and brag about my amazing enchiladas to everyone. This is one recipe I don't add my own "touch" to- it's perfect as is! Thanks, Anna Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This is an excellent recipe! I LOVE IT! BUT beware! This is more of a MOLE sauce for enchiladas (chocolate & cinnamon) - NOT your typical red sauce. Be prepared to also adjust the chili used. Go slow and add as you like for your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Golden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States