Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
What a great change from the normal TexMex packet type sauces, I have orders to make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Only four stars because I never actually measure spices into sauce, I just add & taste and repeat until I like it. The only ingredient change I made was using a heaping tablespoon of unsweetened cocoa powder 'cuz I didn't have any baking chocolate. Used this with the Cottage Cheese Chicken Enchiladas found on this site, and that meal gets five stars definitely because of this sauce! ?Como hacen usted dice DELICIOSO?! The dinner was surely a winner! The BF came home from work the next day and heated up the leftovers for himself immediately. The only other meal he does that for is lasagna...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSQUEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is very yummy! I will make it again. I actually made extra to freeze and use at a later time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Very tasty! My husband who isn't very keen on Mexican food loved it as much as I did. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
My husband and I LOVED this sauce. He had no idea that the secret ingredient was chocolate. I attempted to make my own sauce because store-bought is always too spicy for my kids. I only put 1 tsp. of Chili Powder. It was spicy enough for us and too spicy for my kids. I guess my Chili Powder is really fresh and really hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
this was my first attempt at making a brown sauce and it was really good. Had to fight through the beginning with the strange texture. Just keep stirring and add the broth and it will turn out fine. I reduced the cinnamon after reading other reviews and was glad I did. We froze the other part and just used it again this week to make turkey enchiladas (had to use up the thanksgiving turkey!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baltimore Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This was great! VERY HOT. Also, might want to cut back the semi-sweet chocolate a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
My family loves this sauce. It really adds a nice flavor to even packaged frozen enchiladas for a quick weekday meal. Great idea to double it and keep some in the freezer. I follow this recipe as is with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLWARREN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA
Living In: Setauket, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Wow...Wonderful stuff, I used "Mild" chili power it had enough kick for my family, I also strained it into a bowl taking out the chunky stuff. thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I loved this sauce. It had way more flavor than any store bought sauce. Reminded me of authentic mexican food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Saint Charles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States