Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This sauce is terrific. Once you make this you'll never buy packaged sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This is definitely more of a Mole sauce than enchilada sauce, but it's very good. Lots of flavor (I add a little more spice to it with cayenne pepper), and goes very well with beans in flour tortillas. We pour it over our vegetarian enchiladas, then add cheese and bake for about 20 minutes on 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I didn't have any semisweet chocolate on hand so I used 1/2 oz of unsweetened chocolate and 1t of sugar. This recipe makes the perfect spicy/sweet sauce to go with chicken enchiladas. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLE33
Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I have not put this on anything yet, but after tasting it, I love it!!! My onion mixture was very dry when I went to add the flour and chili powder so I added a small amount of broth first. I doubled the recipe, but did not double the garlic or the chili powder. Probably used 1 less cup of broth. This is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
First attempt at making my own enchilada sauce and it turned out very, very good. I ended up using 2 Tb Hot (New Mexico) and 2 Tb Mild (California) Chile powders and it was plenty spicy and had good chile flavor. Only complaint was that even after extensive cooking, both before and after adding the liquid, it was still a touch grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scotts Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Grew up here in texas and used to the tomato sauce type but this is a very nice alternative, similar to mole' sauce. The recipe does need more oil to make the roux and I had to simmer it a very long time to get it to thicken up. I'll definitely make it again but add more flour. I went very lite on the cinnamon and heavy on the chile powder, personal taste. Great with the cottage cheese chicken enchilada on this site and you can use the left over broth from stewing the chicken breasts to make this sauce, save a couple bucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
What a great change from the normal TexMex packet type sauces, I have orders to make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Only four stars because I never actually measure spices into sauce, I just add & taste and repeat until I like it. The only ingredient change I made was using a heaping tablespoon of unsweetened cocoa powder 'cuz I didn't have any baking chocolate. Used this with the Cottage Cheese Chicken Enchiladas found on this site, and that meal gets five stars definitely because of this sauce! ?Como hacen usted dice DELICIOSO?! The dinner was surely a winner! The BF came home from work the next day and heated up the leftovers for himself immediately. The only other meal he does that for is lasagna...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSQUEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is very yummy! I will make it again. I actually made extra to freeze and use at a later time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Very tasty! My husband who isn't very keen on Mexican food loved it as much as I did. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States