Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Excellent. Great flavor and depth - I needed something without tomato sauce and it was a hit with the husband and kids. I'm going to make cheese enchiladas with it sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
My friends are big "authentic" food eaters, and they raved about this mole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine and Matthew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Yum! My son will only eat this sauce now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neicie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
this mole sauce was delicious, especially since I had cheap dollar store chili powder and still got great results! I read that chili powder can be anything from straight ground chilis to ground chilis with added spices and salt, so I can imagine recipes will vary. I used all 5T and it really wasn't very spicy. I also used semisweet chocolate chips since I didn't have squares, which came to 1/4 cup for the 1 ounce that was called for. then at the last minute I added more chocolate chips because my mom thought it wasn't sweet enough. I thought the cinnamon was right on. I just stirred some cooked chicken into the sauce, served over rice, and garnished with cilantro... so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
good but shouldnt be used for creamy chicken enchiladas. would be better with shredded beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is pretty darn fabulous!!!used 3T.chili....didn't have semi-sweet chocolate cooking square used 1T.cocoa powder and 1T. brown sugar....simmered 1 hr.....GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Liked it very much. Have used it with chicken, pork, and vegatable and cheese enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grannygamer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cazadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I can't give this recipe 5 stars because I modified it. I added only a dash of cinnamon and a tiny half square of chocolate because I'm not crazy about sweet mole style sauces. With those modifications, the sauce was AMAZING, not too sweet and perfect for my taste (I like spicy/salty/flavorful). It also thickened perfectly with the recommended amount of flour. Tlavor was unbeatable and it only took a few minutes to make. I will never use canned enchilada sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
The perfect mole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This was delicious! I used vegetable broth instead of chicken to make it vegetarian. My only complaint is that it was really salty, and I will try to use a reduced sodium broth next time. I'm making this again this weekend and I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States