Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Excellent sauce. My husband is Mexican and is used to authentic Mexican food and he loved this. We changed the serving size to 6. We used this with "Tacos in Pasta Shells" by grannycancook on Allrecipes. It was the perfect Mexican meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
We were looking for a quick enchilada sauce that would work with the ingredients we had in the house - so I made a few substitutions and it still turned out amazing! I ran out of fresh garlic - so I used garlic powder and I was skeptical it would taste good - but it was really good. Also, I didn't have ancho chili powder, so I used a combination of paprika and cayenne pepper. We also used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of baking bars. With all that substitution, it was still an extremely good sauce and I'd highly recommend it. Thanks Anna Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I've made this several times and it is a winner! My whole family enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Williams Wilkerson
Home Town: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This is a great flavorful sauce. I also used chocolate chips and it turned out great. Will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This turned out to be delicious! I used chocolate chips instead square just to $ave a little in the store. I really wouldn't change anything otherwise. My aim was to find a perfect enchilada sauce that was MSG-free. Looks like (smells like, tastes like) we were successful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Wow.. I really enjoyed this sauce! I followed the recipe but just added more cumin and oregano to taste, but stuck to the recipe. I didn't have any "real" chocolate on hand, but I had some Hershey mini's that I bought to take to work... one semi sweet dark chocolate mini did the trick! I wasn't sure about the chocolate and cinnamon at first but thought... give it a try. I'm glad I did. For other readers, if it is too runny for you.. just let it simmer, it only gets better. Thanks Anna Marie for a sauce that doesn't have tomato sauce in it. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
WOW. Really easy and delicious. Didn't change a thing, and it turned out rich and flavorful but without all the oil and fat you might expect in a mole. NOTE - I blended in a food processor just before spreading in the pan and over the enchiladas. Gave it a really smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRI122

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I had to leave out the chocolate and substitute V8 with a little added water for the chicken broth. Believe it or not, it worked. I've been meaning to try this for years and I'm so glad I did. It was excellent. Of course, I did heat it up with some cayenne and extra cumin. Want to make more soon!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I have another sauce recipe that have used for 20+ years but thought I would try this. It was wonderful - the cinnamon gave it a very nice " bite". I tried the sauce before and after the addition of the chocolate and what a difference! I tripled the batch and froze the left overs in 3 cup portions. Just used my first frozen batch and it was even better than the first time. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LanieBrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eudora, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orange, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I didn't really like this sauce. I was hoping for more of an authentic enchilada sauce, this sauce had more of a mole taste to it.If you're looking for a more traditional enchilada sauce, I would try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhiannon Canedo
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States