Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
WOW. Really easy and delicious. Didn't change a thing, and it turned out rich and flavorful but without all the oil and fat you might expect in a mole. NOTE - I blended in a food processor just before spreading in the pan and over the enchiladas. Gave it a really smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRI122

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I had to leave out the chocolate and substitute V8 with a little added water for the chicken broth. Believe it or not, it worked. I've been meaning to try this for years and I'm so glad I did. It was excellent. Of course, I did heat it up with some cayenne and extra cumin. Want to make more soon!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I have another sauce recipe that have used for 20+ years but thought I would try this. It was wonderful - the cinnamon gave it a very nice " bite". I tried the sauce before and after the addition of the chocolate and what a difference! I tripled the batch and froze the left overs in 3 cup portions. Just used my first frozen batch and it was even better than the first time. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LanieBrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eudora, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orange, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I didn't really like this sauce. I was hoping for more of an authentic enchilada sauce, this sauce had more of a mole taste to it.If you're looking for a more traditional enchilada sauce, I would try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs_salas
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Excellent. Great flavor and depth - I needed something without tomato sauce and it was a hit with the husband and kids. I'm going to make cheese enchiladas with it sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
My friends are big "authentic" food eaters, and they raved about this mole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine and Matthew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Yum! My son will only eat this sauce now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neicie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
this mole sauce was delicious, especially since I had cheap dollar store chili powder and still got great results! I read that chili powder can be anything from straight ground chilis to ground chilis with added spices and salt, so I can imagine recipes will vary. I used all 5T and it really wasn't very spicy. I also used semisweet chocolate chips since I didn't have squares, which came to 1/4 cup for the 1 ounce that was called for. then at the last minute I added more chocolate chips because my mom thought it wasn't sweet enough. I thought the cinnamon was right on. I just stirred some cooked chicken into the sauce, served over rice, and garnished with cilantro... so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
good but shouldnt be used for creamy chicken enchiladas. would be better with shredded beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is pretty darn fabulous!!!used 3T.chili....didn't have semi-sweet chocolate cooking square used 1T.cocoa powder and 1T. brown sugar....simmered 1 hr.....GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States