Enchilada Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I love that people write reviews!! I read through them and followed someones advice and used taco seasoning in the corn bread, so glad I did. I made these the night before my party to save time. I microwaved the meatballs for a few minutes then added them to the sauce to finish heating them up. I transferred them to a crock pot to keep them warm through the party. When I tasted the sauce it was a little too mild for me so I added what I had, buffalo wing sauce. I used about 3/4 cup and it added a nice zing! Everyone raved about them! I'll definately be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was GREAT! I made the cornbread the night before (so I would cut down on the time) and left out the tomato sauce as others suggested (ended up using about 1 1/2 cans of enchilada sauce). I added some dried, minced onion as well. Oh, and definetly make sure you add the taco seasoning to the cornbread and the meat mixture. I had a box of the hamburger helper cheesy enchilada mix (I'm not sure why I had this because I am not a fan of the boxed dinners) so I just made the rice part and it was a great compliment to the meatballs. This was deemed a huge hit by the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
No one complained about these, but I thought they were just ok. A nice change of pace from regular meatballs. We had this for dinner w/ rice & cornbread muffins. I might make again when in a bind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly. No one in my family would eat them. I think the cornbread made them too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I was skeptical of this recipe but though it was a creative twist, so glad I tried it because it was great. I followed others suggestions and after the meatballs were cooked through simmered them in just enchilada sauce, no tomato sauce. I served this over cilantro and tomato rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Very good, as others suggested I, too, used all enchilada sauce (the Ten Minute Enchilada sauce from this site). I also added a diced small onion. Served this for dinner with black beans and rice and the remaining corn bread. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Huge hit at our home, kids and husband loved them. The only modification I made was that I omitted the tomato sauce and used 2 cans of enchilada sauce. I'll try this as a mini meatloaf next to keep prep time lower. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I loved this recipe for a tasty Tex-Mex alternative to traditional Italian meatballs. As others suggested I omitted the tomato sauce and used all enchilada sauce...half of the can in the meat mixture and the other half spooned over the cooked meatballs. I omitted the salt, added 2 tablespoons taco seasoning, a minced jalapeno pepper and 1/2 of a small onion finely chopped. I substituted crushed tortilla chips for the crumbled cornbread, and it gave the meatballs a "tamale" taste (also a great way to use up the "crumbs" of chips at the bottom of the bag). Next time I may use the entire can of enchilada sauce to coat the cooked meatballs as adding it to the meat mixture made forming the meatballs a bit sticky and messy. Served with Spanish style rice and tossed salad. Muy bien!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Very tasty! Not bad on creating (time). The wife absolutely loved these...guess I'll be making these morw in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States