Enchilada Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I'm rating it as a 4 as written, and a 5 with my additions and tweaks. Great base recipe there is no doubt and love that I found a new use for leftover cornbread. I did add about a 1/4 cup of grated onion for that subtle flavor, eliminated the salt and also added 1/2 pkg of taco seasoning mix. I also decreased the amount of crumbs to 1 1/2 C. rather than 2 C. It seemed to be the perfect consistency. It was the right amount of flavor that it seemed to lack. Rather than a Mexican blend of cheese, I used about 3/4 C of grated cojita cheese and mixed all the ingredients together, used my 1" cookie scoop to make uniform sized meatballs, baked for 22 minutes and then simmered in the enchilada sauce. Great as an appetizer or part of the dinner entree. I served with refried beans, Mexican Rice II from here, and fresh hot tortillas. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
We love these!! Even my son gobbles them up!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Super easy and good! It was even easier since I already had leftover corn bread made. Used a medium enchilada sauce next time I think I will use hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Great... I added some seasoning but it's killer:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie Chad
Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
These were excellent and very easy. I added a package of taco seasoning to the meat mixture, for some extra flavor. Will make time and time again!Great party appetizer. I used spicy rotel tomato sauce. Take the time to bake your own cornbread. Second time I made them, i used store bought cornbread....way to moist, the meatballs did not cook right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This recipe was delicious and very kid friendly. My boys (ages 1 and 3) both loved it. Next time I will add a little garlic and onion to the meatballs for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Good recipe. I agree w/ some changes it is better. I decreased the amount of cornbread. I used some Taco seasoning to my meat mixture to kick it up a notch. I did not use tomato sauce. I only used more enchilada sauce. Next time I will put some chopped onions in it. I served over Spanish rice and a side of corn. Good dinner idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MochaMe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I liked it but I didn't love it. It was very easy to make. I found my meatballs fell apart some after baking. The only change I made was I used 1 1/2 cups cornbread but other than that followed directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
These weren't bad; they just weren't all that exciting. I added some chopped onion and a tablespoon of minced garlic. These don't compare to my favorite meatball recipe on this website, Cajun Appetizer Meatballs. Those absolutely rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
My family LOVED these! I did add 1/2 a packet of taco seasoning to the meat and then to the sauce. Served them with rice and even my super picky 3 year old gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States