Enchilada Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
The cornbread makes these addictive. I generally doctor up the enchilada sauce or use something else. Enchilada sauce just seems so bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Awesome!! My husband said they were the best meatball ever. Quite a compliment since he prides himself on the best meatball maker ever. Really loved the cornbread, gave it a really nice texture. I did add some sauted onion and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I made without any changes. It was for my dh, I do not eat meat. He said it was a bit bland. I would've added more seasoning (maybe some garlic, onion, etc), but wanted to try it as written as he tends to like simple things :-) If he thought it was bland...well, I'd definitely spice it up if you are trying. I served it over rice with onions and green peppers that I sauteed. He doesnt like taco seasoning, so I didnt try adding any to the cornbread, but I bet that would add some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Good recipe, on the sweet side maybe because of the corn bread? Sweet is a little different for a meatball in my opinion. But I like this idea - maybe next time I'll use taco seasoning and make them more taco flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
UPDATE: I am not a leftover fan, but these tasted just as good if not better the next day! Yum! These were much better than I expected. My fiance gave these an A+ (which is AWESOME!!!). I was able to enjoy something I love (enchiladas) while appeasing my enchilada-hating fiance (he doesn't like saucy tortillas - aka enchiladas). This has been a busy weekend. It just zoomed by. Today was the only time I set aside for a home-cooked meal amongst all the chaos, but it still had to be something quick. This met my expectations exactly! And, contrary to most reviewers' suggestions to use all enchilada sauce or a different ratio of tomato / enchilada sauce, I thought the proportions as is were spot on. Out of necessity, I subbed cheddar-pepperjack cheese for Mexican cheese blend (my cornbread recipe called for pepperjack cheese, but my grocer only sold it as a blend, hence the decision to use that in my meatballs also). Oh, and I heeded Shellye's advive and added taco seasoning to my cornbread and am glad I did. Of course, if you pruchase pre-baked cornbread, you could add this directly to your meatball mixture.... It definitely steps these up a notch, IMHO. Served with Mexican rice and my homemade Mexican cornbread, this was an excellent meal. I can't wait to have leftovers for lunch tomorrow! Thanks Shelley! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Yum! We really liked these! I missed the footnote on the bottom about adding some taco seasoning to the cornbread, I think next time I'll definitely do that. But, these were good even without it. I did use all enchilada sauce instead of half that and half tomato sauce. I poured the sauce into a sauce pan and then added the meatballs once they were done baking and let it come to a simmer. I served them over rice and sprinkled with cheese. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I used my own homemade cornbread and my own version of the Red Enchilada sauce, which is also from this site. I did add a couple spices (cumin, paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, oregano, coriander, pepper, chili powder) and I used all enchilada sauce. I did not add extra salt as there was enough to taste in the enchilada sauce. I used the amount called for in the recipe, cooked the meatballs until they were browned, then poured off the grease and then poured the enchilada sauce-cheese mixture over the top. I baked it for another ten minutes so I could soak up some of that sauce. We all liked this way more than I thought we would have, even my husband who balked at eating this for dinner. Super easy, even using my own homemade ingredients instead of shortcut foods. I'll make this again for sure. Really genius idea, Shelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was really good.....I didnt have all of the ingred...used what I had on hand...I used regular bread crumbs and made homemade enchilada sauce .....I skipped the tomato sauce and used cheddar cheese (what I had)...served it over white rice .....will be making this again thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
What a great solution to craving enchiladas but not having any tortillas on hand. So yummy! Making them again tonight even though I now have tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This is a very good recipe and I enjoyed having something different. I made extra sauce and served the meatballs and sauce over spanish rice. My boyfriend and I loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States