Enchilada Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Loved it. I have made it twice and served it to guests. I changed it slighlty because I like things really spicy. I used a whole package of Chipotly flavored tace seasoning in my cornbread and used only the HOT enclilada sauce (no tomato sauce). I also added onion. Betty QC, AZ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I used my own homemade cornbread and my own version of the Red Enchilada sauce, which is also from this site. I did add a couple spices (cumin, paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, oregano, coriander, pepper, chili powder) and I used all enchilada sauce. I did not add extra salt as there was enough to taste in the enchilada sauce. I used the amount called for in the recipe, cooked the meatballs until they were browned, then poured off the grease and then poured the enchilada sauce-cheese mixture over the top. I baked it for another ten minutes so I could soak up some of that sauce. We all liked this way more than I thought we would have, even my husband who balked at eating this for dinner. Super easy, even using my own homemade ingredients instead of shortcut foods. I'll make this again for sure. Really genius idea, Shelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Koriekiss
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
These were excellent and a big hit at the superbowl party. I followed other reviews and added about a half packet of taco seasoning to the meat and a half of a diced onion sauteed. Baked in a 9x13 pan for the first 20 minutes to render off most the fat, than transfered them to a nice dish. Topped with homemade enchilada sauce (no tomato sauce) sprinkled with the cheese and put back in the oven for another 5 min. Served with toothpicks. Will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
As suggested, I added some chopped onions. Although we enjoyed this and thought it was very good, my initial thought was that it reminded me of meatloaf... I missed the additional note of adding taco seasoning to the cornbread mix; so next time I'll do that, or skip the tomato sauce and increase the amount of enchilada sauce. Otherwise, I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Really yummy. I served this as a main meal over steamed white rice, just added more enchilada sauce. I also couldnt find cornmeal in our supermarket, so i used 1 cup of crushed up savory corn chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I used ground turkey vs ground beef. These were quite good and simple to make. A good spicey flavor, but not overly so. I sprinkled chopped onion over the meatballs when they were nearly done and then sprinkled with grated cheese. Served with guacamole and cole slaw. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Yum-yum! I made these as a meal also. Throw in a side of spanish rice and you're ready. Next time I make them I am planning to chop some onions finely to kick it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
We had these as meatball sandwiches. They were very good. I think, next time, I will omit the tomato sauce and use all enchilada sauce...and HOT, because we like things spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
These were good, I chopped up some onion and a jalapeno, sauteed and added to the meatballs. Also added a package of taco seasoning. Really good with a little shredded cheddar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrieanddave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cass Deliciae
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Thanks for the recipe these disappeared fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass Deliciae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States